Phoenix Hargrave wins 2023 Torrens University U18 MVP Award

South Adelaide midfielder Phoenix Hargrave is the first Panther to win the Torrens University SANFL U18 Award. Picture - Peter Argent


South Adelaide’s Phoenix Hargrave has become his club’s inaugural winner of the Torrens University U18 MVP Award.

The dynamic midfielder is the first Panther to be crowned MVP since the award’s inception in 2009, to recognise the best performed player in the Torrens University SANFL U18 competition.

Playing as an ”bottom-ager” in 2023, the 16-year-old averaged an impressive 23 disposals, five marks, five clearances and six inside 50s in his 18 appearances.

Originally from the Reynella Football Club, Hargrave was nominated for the award after his stunning performance in Round 3, which yielded 22 disposals, eight clearances and seven inside 50s against the Eagles.

A key member of last year’s victorious Torrens University SA U16 team, Hargrave will be hoping to help his Panthers win the 2023 Torrens University SANFL U18 premiership this Sunday at Adelaide Oval.

One player is nominated for the Award each round throughout the home-and-away season, with the overall winner selected by a panel of judges chaired by SANFL Head of Talent Brenton Phillips.

Courtesy of Torrens University Australia, Hargrave receives $500, a trophy and a scholarship up to the value of $10,000.

2023 Torrens University U18 MVP Nominees

Round 1 – Patrick Toole (Woodville-West Torrens)
Round 2 – Liam Fawcett (Central District)
Round 3 – Phoenix Hargrave (South Adelaide)
Round 4 – Trent Tattoli (Central District)
Round 5 – Kade Herbert (Woodville-West Torrens)
Round 6 – Lucas Camporeale (Glenelg)
Round 7 – Jack Delean (South Adelaide)
Round 8 – William Rowlands (Norwood)
Round 9 – William O’Brien (Central)
Round 10 – Charlie Nicholls (Central)
Round 11 – Tom Wheaton (South Adelaide)
Round 12 – Sam Waltham (Sturt)
Round 13 – Harry Francis (Glenelg)
Round 14 – Kade Hilton (West Adelaide)
Round 15 – Darcy Hudson (Woodville-West Torrens)
Round 16 – Dyson Sharp (Central District)
Round 17 – Ben Ridgway (Glenelg)
Round 18 – Bailey White (West Adelaide)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.