Bob Quinn Medal

The Bob Quinn Medal is awarded to the best player on the ground in the SANFL’s traditional Anzac Day clash between the previous year’s Grand Finalists.

A member of the South Australian Football Hall of Fame, Quinn played 239 games for Port Adelaide between 1933 and 1947 – including the combined Port/Torrens team during the Second World War.

A dogged forward who kicked 386 goals during his career, he was captain/coach of the Magpies in 1939, 1940 and between 1945 and 1947.

After just six games of the 1940 season, Quinn enlisted with the Australian Army and was sent to North Africa to fight with the Allies against the Axis forces in Tobruk.

It was on that battlefield that he would earn the Military Medal for courage, leadership and devotion in battle during August 1941.

Returning to Australia and playing with combined Port/Torrens team, Quinn resumed as captain of Port Adelaide in 1945, winning his second Magarey Medal to go with his first in 1938.

2023 N Casalini North Adelaide
2022 S Durdin Glenelg
2021 S Rowland Woodville West Torrens
2020* L McBean Glenelg
2019 M Panos Norwood
2018 F Evans Sturt
2017 A Poole Woodville West Torrens
2016 J Petrenko Woodville West Torrens
2015 P Persinos Norwood
2014 J Shannon North Adelaide
2013 M Suckling Norwood
2012 R Williams Central District
2011 P Thomas Central District
2010 J Sheedy Sturt
2009 C O'Sullivan Central District
2008 P Thomas Central District
2007 C Gowans Central District
2006 M Passador Woodville West Torrens
2005 L Powell Woodville West Torrens
2004 P Thomas Central District
2003 P Thomas Central District
2002 J Gowans Central District

* Match played in 2021, due to the COVID interrupted season in 2020

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.