SA Country Football Championships


The SA Country Football Championships is an event that showcases, supports and celebrates country football, with a vision of football leaving lasting legacies in communities.

Commencing in 1994, the SA Country Football Championships brings together players and officials from 23 regional leagues across South Australia, as well as representatives from Broken Hill.

Following the rapid growth of women’s football, in 2018 the Championships welcomed women’s teams to compete for the first time.

300 talented community footballers from country South Australia represent six zone teams across the men’s and women’s carnivals

The 2021 event was held in the Southern Zone across Victor Harbor and Encounter Bay Football Clubs on the weekend of 10 & 11 July.

A SANFL Regional Match between South Adelaide and Adelaide was also held in conjunction with the event at Victor Harbor Oval.

Competing Zones


Adelaide Plains Football League

Barossa, Light & Gawler Football Association

North Eastern Football League

Yorke Peninsula Football League



Hills Football League

Mallee Football League

Riverland Football League


Eyre Peninsula

Eastern Eyre Football League

Far West Football League

Great Flinders Football League

Port Lincoln Football League

Murray South East

Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League

Mid South East Football League

River Murray Football League

Western Border Football League


Broken Hill Football League

Far North Football League

Northern Areas Football League

Spencer Gulf Football League

Whyalla Football League

Southern Districts

Great Southern Football League

Kangaroo Island Football League

Southern Football League

Championship Honor Boards

Men’s Championships

Year Champions Player of the Championships Best U21 Player
1994 Eyre Peninsula Not Awarded Not Awarded
1995 Southern Districts Not Awarded Not Awarded
1996 Southern Districts Not Awarded Not Awarded
1997 Eyre Peninsula Not Awarded Not Awarded
1999 Eyre Peninsula Not Awarded Not Awarded
2001 Mid North Not Awarded Not Awarded
2003 Southern Districts Not Awarded Not Awarded
2004 Southern Districts Matt Joraswlafsky Adam Merrett
2005 Southern Districts Justin Henscke and Leighton Wilksch
Todd Miles
2006 Central Adam Merrett Ryan Darling
2007 Southern Districts Damian Stevens Tyrone Hill
2008 Murray Mallee Todd Miles Ryan Bennett
2009 Southern Districts Mitch Portlock Greg Bain
2010 Southern Districts Josh Vick and Ben Yeomans Ben Yeomans
2011 Eyre Peninsula Matthew Woolford Levi Konitska
2012 Southern Districts Tyson Wait Tom Johnson
2013 Central Michael Liebelt Patrick Barrett
2014 Murray South East Ben McIntyre and Liam O'Neil Jack Kenny
2015 Southern Districts Jack Kenny and Xavier Watson Campbell Combe
2016 Murray South East Brian Fenton Campbell Combe
2017 Murray South East Jack Jelly Domenic Costanzo
2018 Eyre Peninsula Jesse Kemp Scott Merrett
2019 Central Sidney Masters, Leigh Ryswyk and Xavier Watson Troy Parker-Boers
2021 Southern Districts John Fuller Bailey Marshman

Women’s Championships

Year Champions Player of the Championships Best U21 Player
2018 Eastern Jiarna Zerella Not Awarded
2019 Southern Districts Tegan Nottle Not Awarded
2021 Northern Ella Little and Dakota Williams Ella Little and Dakota Williams
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.