Angus Tully wins 2023 McCallum Tomkins Medal

North Adelaide's Angus Tully in action against the Eagles this year. Picture - Peter Argent


North Adelaide midfielder Angus Tully has claimed a thrilling win to earn the 2023 McCallum Tomkins Medal by just one vote.

The first Rooster since Harrison Magor in 2019 to land the SANFL U18 Best and Fairest trophy, Tully was equal with runner-up Phoenix Hargrave on 20 votes after the Panthers’ on-baller polled three votes in Round 17.

But a third preference in Round 18 was enough to edge Tully in front by the barest of margins as he finished with 21 votes, ahead of Hargrave on 20 while Central District’s Trent Tattoli and South’s Tom Wheaton were next best with 15 each.

Averaging an impressive 24 disposals, six clearances and five inside 50s in his 15 outings this season, Tully received four first preferences, including three in succession from Rounds 3 to 5.

Recruited from the Broadview Football Club, Tully is the fifth North Adelaide player – joining Magor, Boyd Woodcock, Dakota Nixon and Jonathon Hayes – to win the McCallum Tomkins Medal since its inception in 2009.

Prior to 2009, the McCallum Medal was awarded to the best-and-fairest U17 player and the Tomkins Medal was awarded to the best-and-fairest U19 player.

2023 McCallum Tomkins Medal Leaderboard

Player Club Votes
Angus Tully North Adelaide 21
Phoenix Hargrave South Adelaide 20
Tom Wheaton South Adelaide 15
Trent Tattoli Central District 15
Kade Herbert Woodville-West Torrens 12
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.