Dr Brian Sando OAM

Dr Brian Sando was a man who was an international leader in the field of Sports medicine. sando_small

Dr Sando’s involvement in the SANFL started in 1964, when he was appointed as the Norwood Football Club Doctor, where he remained until 1991, when he was appointed as the Adelaide Football Club’s medical officer, a position he held until 2008.

He was a member of the SANFL Development Foundation from 1974 – 1999, as well as a member of the SANFL’s Drug and Disciplinary Tribunal.

Aside from his involvement in football, Dr Sando held a number of positions with national and International sporting bodies, including the World Anti-Doping Agency’s Health, Medical and Research Committee, the FINA Doping Control Review Board, the Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority – of which he was Chairman.

In his career, he covered seven consecutive Olympic Games, being the Senior Medical Director for the Australian Olympic team in 1988, 92, 96, and 2000, along with three Commonwealth Games campaigns.

He was made a SANFL League Life Member in 1988, and after his death in 2012, the Adelaide Football Club recognised his contribution to the Club and the game, by introducing the Brian Sando Trophy – awarded each year, recognising a player’s professionalism and attention to detail.

Inducted :2016
Era : 1961 – 1990
•    Club Doctor for Norwood 1965- 1990, 2008 – 2011
•    Medical Officer for the Australian Davis Cup Team 1983, 1985 and 1993
•    Medical Officer for the Australian Swimming Team 2004
•    Medical Officer for the Australian Track and Field Team 1984 – 1987 (Commonwealth Games)
•    Chief Medical Officer for the Adelaide Football Club 1990 – 2007
•    Senior Medical Officer for the Australian Olympic Teams between 1980 and 2000.

•    Chairman of the Australian Sports Drug Agency (ASADA) 2000
•    Chairman of the Australian Olympic Medical Commission
•    FINA Anti-Doping Control Review Board
•    Board Member- World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) Health and Medical Research Committee
•    Commonwealth Games Federation Medical Commission
•    Board Member – Workcover

•    Medal of the Order of Australia 1995
•    Life Member of Norwood 1976
•    SANFL Life Member 1988
•    Inducted into the Norwood Football Hall of Fame 2010
•    Sports Medicine Australia Life Member
•    Sport Australia Hall of Fame 2001
•    Recognised by a perpetual trophy given in his name by the Adelaide Football Club (First awarded in 2012)