Torrens University SA U18 v SA U20 Teams

2022 Torrens University SA U18 Leadership Group - Nick Sadler Vice Captain, Adam D'Aloia Captain, Kobe Ryan Vice Captain, Max Michalanney Vice Captain. Picture - Peter Argent


Woodville-West Torrens midfielder Adam D’Aloia will lead the Torrens University SA U18 team into battle against the SA U20 side after being named captain for the 2022 NAB AFL National Championships.

The strong-bodied on-baller, averaging 30 disposals, eight clearances and six tackles for the Eagles’ U18s, will toss the coin for the contest which kicks off at 7pm on Friday at Thebarton Oval.

D’Aloia, named in the centre, will be joined in the Croweaters’ four-man leadership group by joint vice-captains Nick Sadler (Sturt), Max Michalanney (Norwood) and Kobe Ryan (West Adelaide).

Sadler will join D’Aloia in the centre square while Ryan will start on the wing with Michalanney a key cog in SA’s back six.

West’s Harry Lemmey and North’s Isaac Keeler will provide plenty of athleticism and strong marking targets inside 50m while South goalsneak Jack Delean will be a constant threat around goal.

In-form Eagles utility Mattaes Phillipou will be one to watch starting at half-forward, with the son of Sam Phillipou also expected to rotate through the midfield.

Bloods bigman Harry Barnett, measuring in at 202cm, will lead the ruck while Tiger Jakob Ryan will look to attack from the half-back flank.

Returning for the first time in three years, the SA U20 side will be captained by Woodville-West Torrens defender Max Litster.

Earning a Powerade Breakthrough Player nomination this year, Litster will start at half-back alongside Eagles teammate Jordan Lukac.

West Adelaide defender Jye Sinderberry will be the U20 team’s vice-captain while Norwood’s League goalsneak Xavier Tranfa has been named in a forward pocket.

The match, which will consist of four 25 minute quarters, will be an important lead-up to the Torrens University SA U18 team’s opening match of the NAB AFL National Championships against the Allies at Thebarton Oval on Sunday June 19.

Tune into the match via the Livestream by clicking the link below. Note – there are no graphics or commentary.

Torrens University SA U18 Leadership Group – (L to R) – Nick Sadler (Sturt – Vice Captain), Adam D’Aloia (Eagles – Captain), Tony Bamford (Coach), Max Michalanney (Norwood – Vice Captain), Kobe Ryan (West – Vice Captain). Picture – Peter Argent

Torrens University SA U18 Team

F: Jack Delean (South), Isaac Keeler (North), Brodie Tuck (Central)

HF: Kelsey Rypstra (North, Harry Lemmey (West), Mattaes Phillipou (Eagles)

C: Blake Hansen (Eagles), Adam D’Aloia (Eagles), Kobe Ryan (West)

HB: Jakob Ryan (Glenelg), Max Michalanney (Norwood), Tyson Walls (Norwood)

B: Alex Holt (Sturt), Kyle Marshall (South), Shaun Bennier (North)

R: Harry Barnett (West), Billy Dowling (North), Nick Sadler (Sturt)

INT: Adam Deakin (Central), Harvey Pedler (Norwood), Will Patton (West), Max Blacker (North), Archie Lovelock (Glenelg), Jaiden Magor (South), Jake Walker (Glenelg)

South Australia U20 Team

F: Dylan McCormick (West), Cody Gilchrist (Central), Xavier Tranfa (Norwood)

HF: Jacob Lochowiak (Sturt), Lukas Cooke (Eagles), Will Pearce (Eagles)

C: Dustin Launer (Central), Cade Kennedy (West), Bailey Chamberlain (West)

HB: Lachlan Hayes (South), Jordan Lukac (Eagles), Max Litster (Eagles)

B: Jye Sinderberry (West), Jarrad Parish (Glenelg), Blayne O’Loughlin (North)


R: Zac Phillips (Eagles), Harrison Dawkins (Eagles), Lewis Cowham (Central)

INT: Michael Laudato (West), Oscar Steene (West), Ethan Schwerdt (Norwood), Charlie Fryer (Sturt)

EMG: Zac Buck (Eagles), Jamison Murphy (North), Michael Cavallaro (Norwood), Jayden Davis (Glenelg)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.