Torrens University SA U18 Team – Game 4

Torrens University SA U18 vice-captain Alex Holt in action against Victoria Country. Picture - Graham Denholm (AFL Photos)


A settled Torrens University SA U18 line-up is preparing to tackle Western Australia in Perth on Saturday afternoon.

Building momentum from a spirited 19-point win against Victoria Country in Melbourne, the Croweaters have added midfielders Trent Tattoli and Declan Gladigau, together with defender Oscar Talbot, to the extended interchange bench for the clash at Optus Stadium.

Central District wingman Tattoli returns after overcoming a corked thigh which kept him out of the side which earned an opening victory at Ikon Park last Sunday.

Strongly-built key forward Tyler Welsh will get another opportunity at the goalmouth after booting five goals against Vic Country while fellow under-ager Sid Draper could potentially sew up SA’s MVP award with another strong display in the midfield.

Exciting forwards Jack Delean and Ashton Moir sprang to life by booting six goals between them against Country so they will also be ones to watch from coach Tony Bamford’s outfit.

Defender Bodie Ryan was SA’s best after putting the clamps on likely No.1 draft pick Harley Reid after he booted the first three goals of the game while captain Will Patton and vice-captain Alex Holt form a composed back six for the visitors.

Starting at 3.30pm SA time, the match – to be a curtain-raiser for the Fremantle v Essendon match – will be live streamed on the AFL’s website.

Torrens University SA U18 defender Will McCabe looks to spoil his opponent. Picture – Graham Denholm (AFL Photos)

Torrens University SA U18 Team

Saturday June 24
AFL U18 National Championships – Game 4
Optus Stadium, Perth – 3.30pm SA time


F: Jack Delean, Tyler Welsh, Patrick Weckert

HF: Loch Rawlinson, Ashton Moir, Jed Dignan

C: Callum Fairall, Tom Wheaton, Luca Slade

HB: Louie Montgomery, Will McCabe, Logan Evans

B: Bodie Ryan, Will Patton, Alex Holt


R: Taylor Goad, Sid Draper, Kane McAuliffe

INT: Tom Luck, Declan Gladigau, Trent Tattoli, Phoenix Hargrave, Ben Ridgway, Kade Herbert, Seb Wauer, Oscar Talbot

IN: Tattoli, Talbot, Gladigau

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.