League Archive

Statewide Super League Top 50 – No.20

Port Adelaide's SANFL captain Tyson Goldsack - Picture PAFC Media


Port Adelaide pounced on former Collingwood defender Tyson Goldsack to be its SANFL captain for very good reason.

The 32-year-old will not only provide outstanding leadership for the club’s youngsters but also a calming presence in defence.

A member of Collingwood’s 2010 premiership side, Goldsack featured in 165 AFL games across his 12 years with the Magpies.

His ability to read the play is exceptional, often providing his fellow defenders with relief by chipping in for an intercept mark.

And despite regularly being under-sized against tall opponents, Goldsack also has the timing to spoil their marking attempts to positive affect.

Magpies coach Matt Lokan could use Goldsack as an option in attack if need be while he could also throw his skipper into the centre square on occasion such is his versatility.

Selected by SANFL Media Producer Zac Milbank, the 2020 Statewide Super League Top 50 is being unveiled one player at a time on the League’s website and social media channels.

For incumbent SANFL players, form across the 2019 season was used as a significant factor in the selection process, with selection in The Advertiser Team of the Year, West End State squad, club leadership group and placings in club best-and-fairest weighing heavily.

This is to ensure there is meaningful movement of player rankings between each year’s Top 50 list at the start and end of the season.

Recruits to the Statewide Super League for 2020 have also been included, with significant AFL experience, performance at State League level and their predicted impact proving critical in deciding the order of players.


Age: 32
Height: 193cm
Weight: 93kg
Position: Tall Defender
SANFL Club: Port Adelaide
Junior Club: Gippsland Power (TAC Cup)
SANFL Debut: Yet to Debut

Statewide Super League Top 50

20 – Tyson Goldsack (Port)
21 – Jarred Allmond (North)
22 – Marlon Motlop (Glenelg)
23 – Kaine Stevens (West)
24 – Matthew Snook (Glenelg)
25 – Travis Schiller (Central)
26 – Billy Stretch (Glenelg)
27 – Joseph Haines (South)
28 – Brad McKenzie (Norwood)
29 – Matthew Rose (South)
30 – James Rowe (Eagles)
31 – Dom Barry (Norwood)
32 – Justin Hoskin (Central)
33 – Harrison Wigg (North)
34 – Matthew Allen (Glenelg)
35 – Troy Menzel (Central)
36 – Mitch Grigg (Norwood)
37 – Jack Hayes (Eagles)
38 – James Rose (South)
39 – Robbie Young (North)
40 – Andrew Bradley (Glenelg)
41 – Tom Schwarz (North)
42 – Matthew Panos (Norwood)
43 – Brad Agnew (Glenelg)
44 – Cole Gerloff (Norwood)
45 – Matthew Wright (Adelaide)
46 – Dean Gore (Sturt)
47 – Tom Keough (West)
48 – Jesse Lonergan (Eagles)
49 – Alex Spina (North)
50 – Logan Hill (West)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.