Team Selections

SA U18 v SA U20 Team Selections

The victorious U20 team after defeating the U18 team in 2023. Picture - Peter Argent


South Australia’s exciting talent will have its opportunity to shine when the SA U20 team tackles the SA U18 team at Thebarton Oval on Saturday.

Starting at 11am, the annual SA Talent Clash will serve as an important tune up to the AFL National Championships for the SA U18 team while SA’s U20 players will also be afforded a valuable opportunity to shine in front of AFL recruiting staff.

SA U18 captain Sid Draper has been named in the centre square to make his return from a shin injury and is expected to be on limited minutes as he eases back into action.

Sturt giant Alex Dodson will have first crack in the ruck while Tyler Welsh, Tallan Rosenzweig and Charlie Nicholls will form an imposing triple aerial threat inside SA U18s’ attacking 50m arc.

Strongly-built bottom-age midfielder Dyson Sharp will be offered a new challenge across half-back while the Camporeale twins – Ben and Lucas – will spend plenty of time through the midfield rotation for the SA U18s.

The SA U20 team will be captained by smooth-moving Sturt midfielder Nick Sadler, with last year’s SA U18 skipper Will Patton, who has been in excellent form for West Adelaide, serving as his deputy.

Bloods midfielder Kobe Ryan will start in the centre square for the SA U20 team after being trimmed from the SANFL Senior State Squad to face the WAFL in Perth on Sunday.

West Adelaide’s Will Patton won the best afield medal for the SA U18 team in 2023. Picture – Peter Argent

SA U18 Team

F: Tyler Welsh, Tallan Rosenzweig, Evan Bradley

HF: Ned Bowman,  Charlie Nicholls, Jacob Newton

C: Lucas Camporeale, Sid Draper, Harley Barker

HB: Jett Hasting, Tate Delmenico, Dyson Sharp

B: Jacob Sheean, Harry Ramm,  Angus Clarke

R: Alex Dodson,  Ben Camporeale, Sam Cumming

INT: Ryan Borlace, Kade Herbert, Phoenix Hargrave, Matt LeRay, Harry Dodd, Charlie West, Benny Barrett, Thomas McKay, Dakota Sterzl, Jevan Phillipou, Aidan Schubert, Josh Reichelt, Blake Oudshoorn-Bennier

SA U20 Team

F: Brody Mair, Harry Francis, Beau Thomas

HF: Luca Slade, Jayden Matz, Archie Lovelock

C: Nick Sadler, Jed Dignan, Callum Fairall

HB: Will Patton, Oscar Talbot, Henry Maerschel

B: Nic Schroder, Darcy Minchella, Alex Holt

R: Alex Van Wyk, Adam D’Aloia, Kobe Ryan

INT: Ben Ridgway, Tom Wheaton, Oscar Kregar, Noah McDonald, Hughen Wissman

EMG: Louie McLennan, Blake Hansen

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.