Media Release

SA Football Commission Appointment

10 September 2020

The South Australian Football Commission is pleased to announce the appointment of experienced business advisor and independent professional director Janet Finlay as a member of the Commission.

A chartered accountant and former partner of Big 4 accounting firm Ernst & Young, Ms Finlay was appointed to the Commission this month on a two-year term.

Ms Finlay has a strong commercial and finance background with extensive experience across a wide range of public, private, international and not-for-profit organisations.

She also holds numerous board roles in South Australia, including with SA Water Corporation, the University of Adelaide, St John Ambulance and Libraries Board of SA.

Commission Chairman Rob Kerin said Ms Finlay’s high-level experience in financial and risk management would be invaluable to the leadership of South Australian football as it continues to face the significant financial impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Janet brings to the SA Football Commission great knowledge and experience in leadership and strategic thinking. She is accustomed to working in complex and uncertain environments and her insights will contribute greatly to our role to lead, protect and grow football in South Australia,” Mr Kerin said.


New SA Football Commission member Janet Finlay

Growing up in Canberra where rugby league was the dominant code, Ms Finlay took a keen interest in Australian Rules after moving to South Australia in the early 2000s.

“My husband and I went to a Port Adelaide versus Hawthorn semi-final at ‘Footy Park’ in 2001, knowing not very much about the game or the teams…it was a nail-biter and I was hooked. Unfortunately, Port lost that match but I’ve followed them ever since,” she said.

“I’m passionate about ensuring football is safe, welcoming and inclusive at every level.

“I hope with fresh eyes and a love of the game, together with finance, commercial and governance experience, I can support a sustainable future for football in SA.”

The SA Football Commission comprises seven elected members and two appointed members.

Ms Finlay is an appointed member after Louise Small became an elected Commissioner for a three-year term in March this year.

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.