Footy Fix

Round 2 SANFL Footy Fix

Compiled by Zac Milbank

Round 2 SANFL Match Review Panel

Sturt ruckman Daniel Fahey-Sparks has accepted a reprimand with an early guilty plea for striking Eagles forward Nick Hayes at Adelaide Oval on Saturday.

Round 6 SANFLW Match Review Panel

Central District’s Gemma Doughty has accepted a reprimand for engaging in rough conduct with South’s Jess Kirk at Flinders University Stadium on Saturday.

North Adelaide’s Bek Rasheed has accepted a reprimand for making careless contact with an umpire in the match against Glenelg at ACH Group Stadium on Sunday.

Round 2 Powerade Breakthrough Player Nominees

Luke Bogle (South) – The Round 2 inclusion impressed with his zip around the goals, booting two majors to go with his 14 disposals and five tackles.

Joseph Brown (Central) – In his first League game for Central District, the former Crows SANFL defender was poised across half-back with 19 disposals and three tackles.

Casey Voss (Sturt) – Playing his third League match, Voss continued his steady development by collecting 24 disposals and seven clearances while booting his team’s only goal in the second half.


Round 1 – Nick Lange (Central)

Round 6 SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player

The Round 6 SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player is Central District’s Madison Lane.

Playing in defence, the 17-year-old from the Barossa posted her strongest performance at senior level for the Bulldogs, taking several clean marks before rebounding from the backline.


Round 1 – Hannah Ewings (North)
Round 2 – Mattea Breed (Norwood)
Round 3 – Izzy Kuiper (Sturt)
Round 4 – Tessa Kohn (Glenelg)
Round 5 – Keeley Kustermann (West)

Round 2 Torrens University Cup MVP

The Round 2 Torrens University Cup MVP is Glenelg’s Riley Holder.

Originally from Plympton FC, Holder racked up 22 disposals and eight marks to go with his four goals in the narrow win against South on Saturday.


Round 2 Club Nominees
Central – Darcy McDonald
Glenelg – Riley Holder
North – Leo Coates
Norwood – Nathan Hearing
South – Matthew Roberts
Sturt – Tom Powell
West – Lachie De Cesare
Woodville-West Torrens – Zac Buck


Round 1 – Caleb Poulter (Eagles)

Round 2 AAMI Rookies

There were three AAMI Rookies in Round 2 of the Statewide Super League.

Each rookie earns $500 for their nominated Community Club, courtesy of AAMI and SANFL.

Callum Park (Glenelg) – PHOS Camden FC
Malachi Lines (Sturt) – Mt Barker FC
Tristan Carcuro (Eagles) – Sacred Heart Old Collegians FC

2020 R. O Shearman Medal

Sturt v Eagles
10 – James Rowe (Eagles)
6 – Matthew Goldsworthy (Eagles)
4 – Jarrad Redden, Nick Hayes (Eagles)
2 – Jimmy Toumpas, Jesse Lonergan (Eagles)
1 – Rhyan Mansell (Eagles), Sam Wundke (Sturt)

Norwood v North
8 – Andrew Moore (North), Declan Hamilton (Norwood)
6 – Campbell Combe (North)
4 – Matthew Nunn (Norwood)
3 – Tom Schwarz (North)
1 – Billy Hartung (North)

South v Glenelg
10 – Luke Partington (Glenelg)
6 – Matthew Snook (Glenelg)
5 – Marlon Motlop (Glenelg)
4 – Joel Cross (South)
2 – Matthew Broadbent, Nic Schwarz (South)
1 – Jack Hannath (Glenelg)

West v Central
6 – Nick Lange (Central), Kaine Stevens, Tom Keough (West)
4 – Isaac Johnson (West), Ethan East (Central)
2 – James Boyd, Troy Menzel (Central)


2020 SANFL Digital Pass Player of the Year

South v Glenelg – Wayne Weidemann
3 – Jack Hannath (Glenelg)
2 – Matthew Broadbent (South)
1 – Luke Partington (Glenelg)

West v Central – Grant Coffee
3 – James Boyd (Central)
2 – Kaine Stevens (West)
1 – Troy Menzel (Central)

Stanley. H Lewis Memorial Trophy

Club League Reserves Under-18 Total
Glenelg 200 100 100 400
Central 50 100 50 200
North 100 50 50 200
Sturt 100 0 100 200
Woodville-West Torrens 100 100 0 200
South 100 0 50 150
West 50 50 0 100
Norwood 0 0 50 50

Round 3 Statewide Super League Milestones

100 games
Tom Schwarz (North)
Jake Von Bertouch (Eagles)

50 games
Michael Virgin (Glenelg)
Zac Richards (Norwood)
Mitch Wilkins (Norwood)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.