Team Selections

Round 11 Statewide Super League Teams – Part 2


Saturday June 29

Sturt v Adelaide | Peter Motley Oval | 2:10pm

  • Live broadcast on 1629 SEN SA or the SEN APP
  • Live stream via Digital Pass
  • Live radio/scores/stats on the SANFL App | Live scores/stats at


Sturt has named premiership defender Byron Sumner ahead of schedule for its match against Adelaide on Saturday.

Sumner, who copped a jaw injury against Port in Round 9, was initially expected to miss four weeks but could return a week earlier if he takes his place in the final 21.

The former Sydney Swan is one of three inclusions for the Double Blues’ 23-man squad, with tall forward Hugo Munn and utility Joel Thiele also earning a call up.

Munn has been named to start at centre-haf forward while Thiele, named on the extended interchange bench, could play his first Statewide Super League game of the year after playing 10 in the Reserves for 2019.


F: Greenslade, Patullo, J. Hone

HF: Riley, Munn, Sutcliffe

C: Pearce, Colquhoun, Crocker

HB: Stephens, Edmonds, Sumner

B: Illman, F. Evans, Carey


R: Fahey-Sparks, Slimming, Kirkwood

INT: M. Lochowiak, Penfold, Battersby, Thiele, M. Evans

IN: Thiele, Munn, Sumner

OUT: Coomblas

T. Hone, Richards, Trenorden, Thornton, Laycock, Voss, Parker-Boers, Coomblas, How, Borlase, A. Lochowiak, Condon, Allan, Armiento, Crane, Hough, Weeks, Grivell, Mitchell, Wills.

F: Fahey, Durack, Doyle
HF: Bates, Ferres, Crane
C; Kitto, Liddy, Wingard
HB: Carruthers, Matteucci, Walter
B: Britten-Jones, Paddick, Starr

R: Zevenboom, Kennett, H. Ferrari
INT: Holland, Sims, Staples, Thredgold
EMG: Howe, J. Ferrari, Powell, Z. Parker-Boers


Adelaide will be without two key players for its encounter with Sturt at Peter Motley Oval on Saturday.

Veteran midfielder Bryce Gibbs and exciting young forward Ben Davis have been called upon to play against Geelong in the AFL on Friday night with Davis making his AFL debut.

Tall forward Elliott Himmelberg has also been excluded from the SANFL squad.

Five SANFL development players have been included in the Crows’ 23-man list, including emerging Millicent midfielder Tom Hutchesson and utility Hamish Latchford.


F: Strachan, Fogarty, Stengle

HF: Wright, Hunter, McAdam

C: Knight, Wilson, Mackay

HB: Sholl, Butts, McPherson

B: Hamill, Otten, Merrett


R: Jacobs, Poholke, Jones

INT: Boyle, Farrer, Hutchesson, Johnson, Latchford

IN: Boyle, Farrer, Hutchesson, Johnson, Latchford

OUT: Davis (AFL), Gibbs (AFL), Himmelberg (AFL)


North Adelaide v Port Adelaide | Prospect Oval| 2:40pm

  • Live telecast on Channel 7 and the 7plus App
  • Live scores & stats on the SANFL App | Live scores & stats at


North Adelaide has been hit by hamstring issues ahead of its clash with Port on Saturday.

Former captain Mitch Clisby and sharpshooting forward Keenan Ramsey both injured their hamstrings against Sturt in Round 10.

The return of premiership bigman Alex Barns will assist in the absence of Ramsey, with Barns overcoming a shoulder complaint.

Jared Deep has been included on the four-man extended interchange bench while Lee Minervini will play his first Statewide Super League game since Round 17 2017.


F: Spina, Harvey, Hender

HF: Szekely, Verity, Jarman

C: Olekalns, Tropiano, Neagle

HB: Minervini, Smith, Allmond

B: Slee, C. Craig, Laurie


R: A. Barns, Thring, T. Schwarz

INT: Aldridge, Combe, Deep, Nixon

IN: A. Barns, Deep, Minervini

OUT: Clisby (hamstring), Ramsey (hamstring)

Neade, Wharton, Wohling, J.Schwarz, Miller, C.Barns, J.Craig, Osborne, Lower, Blair, Agorastos, Ginever, Rigney, Coleman-Oakes, Bowman, Langley, Flanagan, Marshall, Scott, Dinning, Robinson.

F: Byrne, Coates, Newchurch
HF: Antrobus, Dowling, M. Borg
C: Crompton, L. Borg, Manning
HB: Nance, Akker, Flanagan
B: Daniell, Vasey, Santillo

R: Hart, McKenzie, Murphy
INT: Bernardi, Freer, Hodges, Simon, Butterworth, Ok, Hill


A very different Port Adelaide outfit will confront North Adelaide at Prospect on Saturday.

Since the Magpies’ win against Norwood on June 16, Charlie Dixon, Ollie Wines, Brad Ebert and Joel Garner have been called up for AFL duty.

This will ensure that Paddy Ryder makes his Statewide Super League debut while Justin Westhoff will play his first Statewide Super League game since lining up with original club Central District in Round 13 2010.

Midfielder Sam Powell-Pepper will play his first SANFL match for the Magpies since Round 18 last season.

Defender Jarrad Lienert has been joined in the 19-player list by SANFL-contracted quartet Sam Davidson, Matt Appleton, Tom Corcoran and Jack Strange.

Magpies captain Cam Sutcliffe, recruited from Fremantle, could play his first game for the Power after being called up to the extended squad in the AFL.


F: Cox, Frampton, Hayes

HF: Davidson, Woodcock, Johnson

C: Mayes, Powell-Pepper, Westhoff

HB: Lienert, Frederick, Corcoran

B: Elsworthy, Grundy, Strange


R: Ryder, Hewett, Atley

INT: Appleton

IN: Westhoff, Powell-Pepper, Ryder, Lienert, Strange, Corcoran, Davidson, Appleton

OUT: Garner (AFL), Ebert (AFL), Dixon (AFL), Wines (AFL), Sutcliffe (AFL), McKenzie (AFL), Marshall (AFL)


Sunday June 30

West Adelaide v South Adelaide | City Mazda Stadium | 2:10pm


West Adelaide has rushed back premiership captain Chris Schmidt for its contest against South Adelaide on Sunday.

Schmidt, who hasn’t played since Round 6 due to a knee injury, has been named on a five-man extended interchange bench together with fellow inclusion Dallas Willsmore.

Exciting goalsneaks Gibson Turner and Ken Karpany have returned to the starting 18 after being named inside the Bloods’ attacking 50m arc.

Tall utility Chol Majok was sent back to the Reserves while journeyman Nigel Osborn couldn’t be considered due to work commitments.


F: G. Turner, Beech, Wasley-Black

HF: Karpany, Hupfeld, Anderson

C: Batley, P. Fairlie, Waite

HB: J. Evans, Keough, Levicki

B: Hill, Ryan, Dunkin


R: Parrella, H. Haysman, K. Stevens

INT: Willsmore, B. Turner, Schmidt, Pillion, Kirk

IN: Karpany, Schmidt, Willsmore, G. Turner

OUT: Osborn (work), Majok

Agostino, Cleeland, R. Stevens, Inglis, Gallaway, Lynch, Wooldridge, L. Evans, Majok, Caruso, S. Bentley, Laube, Noonan, Morrish, Gutsche, C. Fairlie, May, Nield, Moore, J. Bentley, G. Haysman.

Pearce, Kelsh, O’Connor-Dawkins, Brauer, Westley, Stakic, Kelly, Gibson, Fielke, Sherlock, Morelli, Van den Berg, Nunan, Chamberlain, Nield, Laudato, Gilbert, De Cesare, Henty-Smith, Groom, Pederick, Bock, Sinderberry, Forbes, Smith, Boughen, Boylan.


South Adelaide is set to start veteran utility Alex Cailotto in defence against West on Sunday.

Cailotto, who was a revelation in the ruck against Norwood in Round 9, missed the Panthers’ win against Glenelg with a calf injury.

The 27-year-old has been named at centre-half back with exciting Reynella prospect Cam McGree to start in the ruck.

Dashing half-back Emmanuel Irra has also been included in the 23-man squad, with the former Power rookie named on a five-man extended interchange bench.

Irra, who had 22 disposals in the Reserves in Round 10, hasn’t played at League level since Round 6 while recovering from a quad strain.


F: Emery, Davis, Biemans

HF: Noble, Overall, Fitt

C: Sampson, Cross, Karpany

HB: Haines, Cailotto, Brown

B: Rose, Crabb, Summerton


R: McGree, Heaslip, Liddle

INT: Whittlesea, Schwarz, Irra, Loneragan, Bogle

IN: Irra, Cailotto

Badger, Baker, Beenham, Coleman, Colwell, Davies, Elmes, Hoey, Juckers, Kappler, Kennedy, Lovering, Makoi, McKinnon, Milsom, Moffa, Snelling, Tucker, Whitbread, Wilkinson.

F: Riddle, Ryan, Fitzgerald
HF: Oliver, Kernahan, Nye
C: Pope, Clifton, Coulthard
HB: Spacie, Douglass, Copley
B: Dumesny, Hindes, Kraemer

R: Williams, Lippett, Hamilton
INT: Brown, Strapps, Rogers, Rice, Inthavong, Sweetman, Little


Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.