Team Selections

Preliminary Final Statewide Super League Teams

By Zac Milbank


Woodville-West Torrens has included three players to its squad to confront South Adelaide in Sunday’s Preliminary Final at Adelaide Oval.

Joint vice-captain Jesse Lonergan has overcome his calf ailment to be named on the extended interchange bench alongside fellow inclusions Sam Lowson and Ben Jungfer.

Coburg recruit Lowson, who had been carrying a minor knee problem, responded well by booting four goals in the Reserves’ Second Semi Final last Saturday while Jungfer lost his spot after playing in Round 13 and 14.

Jungfer looms as the most likely defensive replacement for Rhyan Mansell, should the Tasmanian signing not recover from his concussion suffered in the first term against North in last Sunday’s Second Semi Final.


F: Rowe, J. Hayes, Poole

HF: N. Hayes, Von Bertouch, Foote

C: McNeil, Toumpas, Goldsworthy

HB: Jones, Giuffreda, Mansell

B: Rowland, Thompson, Wehr


R: Redden, Sinor, Tsitas

INT: Pudney, Lowson, Lonergan, Seymour, Jungfer, Comitogianni, Firns

IN: Lowson, Lonergan, Jungfer



South Adelaide coach Jarrad Wright could take an unchanged line-up into Sunday’s Preliminary Final against Woodville-West Torrens at Adelaide Oval.

Three players – forward Liam Fitt, defender Tyson Brown and utility Anthony Biemans – have been added to the Panthers’ 25-man squad.

But Wright will be tempted not to tinker with the 22 which accounted for Glenelg in the First Semi Final.

Fitt has been sidelined since Round 11 with a knee injury while Brown has been out since Round 12 with a thigh complaint but both have proven they are fit for selection.

Biemans was squeezed out last Sunday after helping South defeat North in Round 14.


F: McCreery, Cailotto, Wilkinson

HF: Karpany, Overall, Schwarz

C: Sampson, Broadbent, Milsom

HB: Andrews, Haren, Haines

B: Highmore, Summerton, Elsworthy


R: Hunter, Heaslip, Cross

INT: Kappler, Bogle, Whittlesea, Horne, Brown, Fitt, Biemans

IN: Brown, Fitt, Biemans

Brown, Burton, Cannizzaro, Carnelly, Dahms, Dew, Durdin, East, Falkenberg, J. Furnell, Gillard, Graham, Grubb, Hanna, Haydon, Kelly, Kennedy, Lange, Madden, Milne, O’Gorman, F. Pisani, Rigney, Robinson, Shaw, Thomson


Neade, Kirk, Wharton, Aldridge, Magor, Davis, Parsons, Neagle, Rigney, C.Barns, J.Craig, Hilder, D.Hill, Parnell, Nixon, Slee, Marini, Hann, Davies, Dowling, Fahey, Bowman, Langley, Byrne

F: Lochowiak, Hortle, Ferrari
HF: Borlase, Ferres, Staples
C: Higgins, Liddy, Thomas
HB: Walter, Grieve, Carruthers
B: W Taylor, Manuell, Fryer

R: Holland, Powell, Spain
INT: Grivell, Rigney, Jefferies, Hein, Opperman, Parker-Boers, Britten-Jones


F: Schofield, J. Hunter-Price, Scott
HF: Godden, Smith, Wheare
C: Kasianowicz, Poulter, Launer
HB: Dawkins, Ueding, Thomson
B: Buck, Williams, Mitzithras

R: Phillips, Litster, Burgoyne
INT: Adams, Blair, Branford, Calvett, Neumann, Nicholls, O’Reilly, Sheldon, Watson

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.