League Archive

Partington Wins R. O Shearman Medal


Glenelg midfielder Luke Partington is just the second Tiger to win the R. O Shearman Medal after being presented with the coveted individual award on Monday night.

Joining fellow Bays’ Magarey Medallist Brett Backwell who shared the Shearman Medal in 2003, Partington polled 76 votes to hold off Adelaide’s Patrick Wilson on 72 and Port Adelaide’s Jack Trengove on 69.

Sturt’s Sam Colquhoun (59) and South’s Abe Davis (56) rounded out the top five vote winners, while Panthers co-captain Joel Cross, who has won the Shearman Medal in 2015 and 2017, was placed sixth with 54 votes.

It capped a memorable night for Partington, who became the first Glenelg player since Backwell in 2006 to win the Magarey Medal.

The 22-year-old also won the competition’s other individual trophy this year – the inaugural SANFL Digital Pass Player of the Year as voted by the Digital Pass commentators.

Voted on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis by the SANFL coaches during the minor round, the R. O Shearman Medal voting, including leaderboard, appears weekly in the SANFL Budget.

The medal is named after five-time Sturt premiership player and SA Football Hall of Fame member Bob Shearman.

Triple Magarey Medallist James Allan has dominated the award, claiming a record six R. O Shearman Medals playing for North Adelaide, sharing it with Sturt’s Jade Sheedy in 2008.

2019 R. O Shearman Medal Leaderboard

Player Club Votes
Luke Partington Glenelg 76
Patrick Wilson Adelaide 72
Jack Trengove Port 69
Sam Colquhoun Sturt 59
Abe Davis South 56
Joel Cross South 54
Jarrod Schiller Central 53
Aidan Tropiano North 48
Myles Poholke Adelaide 48
Jordan Foote Eagles 44

R. O Shearman Honour Roll

Year Player Club
2000 Gavin Colville Eagles
2001 Ryan O'Connor Port
2002 Jade Sheedy Sturt
2003 Brett Backwell/Marco Bello Glenelg/Central
2004 Salim Hassan West
2005 Jeremy Clayton Port
2006 Justin Cicolella Eagles
2007 James Allan North
2008 James Allan/Jade Sheedy North/Sturt
2009 James Allan North
2010 James Allan North
2011 James Allan North
2012 James Allan North
2013 Matt Thomas Norwood
2014 Steven Summerton Port
2015 Joel Cross South
2016 Jared Petrenko Eagles
2017 Joel Cross South
2018 Nick Liddle South
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.