League Archive

Glenelg Wins 2019 Stanley H. Lewis Trophy


Glenelg has won its first Stanley H. Lewis Trophy since 2010 as the SANFL’s best performed club in 2019.

With both their Statewide Super League team finishing minor premier, together with Reserves and Under-18s qualifying for finals, the Bays tallied a total of 2300 points to finish ahead of second-placed Norwood on 2100 points.

Woodville-West Torrens tallied 2050 points to finish in third place ahead of Sturt and South Adelaide on 1950.

It is the ninth time Glenelg has claimed the Trophy, with its most recent successes coming in 2009 and 2010.

The Trophy, named after past SANFL Chairman Stanley Heathcote Lewis, has been awarded since 1962 to the club which has displayed excellence across all grades of football.

Points are awarded for each win across the minor round, with 100 points allocated for a League victory, 50 points for the Reserves and 50 for an Under-18 triumph.

In the event of a draw, half of the points allocated for a win in that grade are awarded to each club involved.

2019 Stanley H. Lewis Leaderboard

Club League Reserves Under 18 Total
Glenelg 1400 400 500 2300
Norwood 1100 650 350 2100
Eagles 800 500 750 2050
Sturt 1100 600 250 1950
South 1000 400 550 1950
Port 1300 N/A N/A 1300
Adelaide 1150 N/A N/A 1150
North 450 250 450 1150
West 200 350 600 1150
Central 500 450 150 1100
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.