Friday Flashback – Port v Glenelg 1990 Grand Final


He didn’t win the Jack Oatey Medal in 1990 but the man with a massive influence on the outcome of the match was undoubtedly Port Adelaide’s Scott Hodges.

Having won the the Magarey Medal that year, the Magpies’ spearhead imposed himself on the contest at critical junctures en route to booting a match-high six majors.

Hodges booted the opening goal of the first and second terms before leaving the field with a knee injury before half-time.

But then the Magpies’ fan favourite returned to haunt the Tigers, booting the sealer early in the fourth quarter as Port opened up a 29-point lead.

And his sixth for the afternoon ended up being particularly memorable given it was his 153rd for the season, a record which still remains today.

Fearsome Port defender George Fiacchi won the Jack Oatey Medal as best afield while ruckman David Hynes and reliable backman Greg Phillips were also strong contributors as the Pies won another flag under master mentor John Cahill.

For the Tigers, coached by Graham Cornes, experienced premiership wingman Tony Symonds and emerging utility Rod Jameson were high among their best players.

PORT ADELAIDE     4.5    10.7    13.9    16.12    (108)
GLENELG                  5.2     6.7      9.11   13.15    (93)

Jack Oatey Medal – George Fiacchi

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.