Final 2022 Torrens University SA U16 Squad

Sturt's Ned Atkinson, the son of Magarey Medallist Brodie Atkinson, in action for Sturt this year. Picture - Peter Argent


A final 30-player Torrens University SA U16 squad has been selected ahead of the NAB AFL Under-16 National Championships starting this month.

Featuring a host of father-son prospects, the squad – selected from the eight SANFL clubs – has been trimmed after Saturday’s internal trial match.

Coached by Julian Farkas, the Torrens University SA U16 team will play three Championship matches, two in Adelaide and one on the Gold Coast.

South Australia will begin its campaign against Western Australia at Thebarton Oval on Sunday June 26 before tackling Victoria Metro at the home of the Suns, Metricon Stadium, on Tuesday July 5.

A final contest will be played at Thebarton Oval against Victoria Country on Saturday July 9.

Among the familiar surnames in the squad are the sons of Central District premiership pair Luke McCabe and Stuart Cochrane, with Will McCabe and Thomas Cochrane joining three other Bulldogs in the squad.

Glenelg’s Camporeale twins – Lucas and Ben – are the sons of Woodville-West Torrens wingman Scott Camproeale while North’s Tom Tasker is aiming to follow the same path as his dad Sean at Prospect.

Sturt midfielder Ned Atkinson, son of Magarey Medallist Brodie Atkinson, North’s Louie Montgomery, son of Power premiership defender Brett Montgomery and Woodville-West Torrens’ Tyler Welsh, son of former Crow Scott Welsh, are also in the mix to play in the national tournament.

A second trial match against Prince Alfred College will be played at Thebarton Oval this Saturday, with Farkas to be assisted in the coaches box by Clay Sampson, Dave Reynolds, Brett Hudson and SANFL’s Tony Bamford as Coaches assistant.

Player SANFL Club
Will McCabe Central
Thomas Coachrane Central
Beau Ryan Central
Charlie Nicholls Central
Dyson Sharp Central
Lucas Camporeale Glenelg
Ben Camporeale Glenelg
Tom Tasker North
Louie Montgomery North
Evan Bradley North
Blake Oudshorn-Bennier North
PJ Carlin North
Jacob Newton Norwood
Sid Draper South
Benny Barrett South
Jake Agnew South
Phoenix Hargrave South
Wil Thomas Sturt
Cameron Kelly Sturt
Ned Atkinson Sturt
Jasper Maher Sturt
Alex Dodson Sturt
Samuel Burbridge West
Carter Wright West
Tom Luck Woodville-West Torrens
Harry Dodd Woodville-West Torrens
Charlie West Woodville-West Torrens
Jett Hasting Woodville-West Torrens
Tyler Welsh Woodville-West Torrens
Kade Herbert Woodville-West Torrens
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.