League Archive

Douglas wins 2020 SANFL Digital Pass Player of the Year


Norwood’s Richard Douglas has capped off an eye-catching Statewide Super League season by winning the 2020 SANFL Digital Pass Player of the Year Award.

Finishing with 13 votes, the Redlegs’ joint vice-captain edged out Sturt skipper James Battersby and North Adelaide half-back Harrison Wigg, who polled 12 votes each.

South Adelaide co-captain Joel Cross was the only other player to reach double figures in the shortened season due to Covid-19.

Douglas was an outstanding performer in his first full season at The Parade, registering votes in six matches including three first preferences for best afield.

The 33-year-old finished third in the Statewide Super League for total disposals at an average of 25.8 while boasting an exceptional 88 per cent disposal efficiency.

Votes for the SANFL Digital Pass Player of the Year were awarded by the Digital Pass commentators on a 3-2-1 basis throughout the minor round. Douglas will receive a $500 prize courtesy of SANFL.

While Douglas won’t be participating in this year’s Statewide Super League finals series, SANFL fans can still catch all of the action from the major round on Digital Pass.

Packages for the 2020 Statewide Super League, Reserves and Under-18 Torrens University Cup have just been released at the link below.

Richard Douglas (right) celebrates a goal with Mitch Grigg in Round 5.

2020 SANFL Digital Pass Player of the Year Leaderboard

13 – Richard Douglas (Norwood)
12 – James Battersby (Sturt), Harrison Wigg (North)
11 – Joel Cross (South)
9 – Matthew Broadbent (South), Luke Partington (Glenelg), Joseph Haines (South), James Boyd (Central)
7 – Abe Davis (Sturt), Justin Hoskin (Central)
6 – Travis Schiller (Central), Sam Colquhoun (Sturt)
5 – Jack Hayes (Eagles), Matthew Snook (Glenelg), Jack Hannath (Glenelg), Matthew Nunn (Norwood), Sam Baulderstone (Norwood), Jimmy Toumpas (Eagles), Kaine Stevens (West), James Tsitas (Eagles)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.