Croweaters dominate selection in 2023 AFLW U18 All-Australian team

South Australia's undefeated U18 girls team has been declared AFL National Champion for the second year in succession. Picture - Peter Argent


South Australia has dominated All-Australian selection for the second year in succession with eight players and coach Jason Rivett selected in the elite group after an undefeated U18 AFLW National Championships campaign.

Repeating last year’s feat of having eight players chosen in the wake of their breakthrough title win, the Croweaters’ stunning performance 12 months later has been fittingly recognised after defeating Western Australia, Victoria Metro and Queensland in succession.

Rivett, in his first year at the helm of the talented line-up, is the 2023 U18 AFLW All-Australian coach while Glenelg’s Piper Window was handed the honour of being named as the All-Australian captain while being selected as ruck rover.

Woodville-West Torrens midfielder Shineah Goody, who was MVP of the Championships in 2022, made it two All-Australian selections in succession after being named in the centre while SA’s 2023 MVP, Sturt’s India Rasheed, was listed at half-forward.

West Adelaide game-breaker Lauren Young averaged three goals across her three outings to be a natural fit at full forward while crafty Central District goalsneak Elaine Grigg lines up alongside her in the forward pocket.

Ultra-consistent South Adelaide midfielder Brooke Boileau earned a place on the interchange bench, joining Eagles’ rebounding defender Jemma Whittington-Charity.

Piper Window was named captain of the 2023 AFLW U18 All-Australian team while also being selected at ruck rover.

2023 U18 AFLW South Australian All-Australians

Coach – Jason Rivett

Captain & Ruck Rover – Piper Window (Glenelg/Morphettville Park)
Centre – Shineah Goody (Woodville-West Torrens/Southern Eagles-Edithburgh)
Forward Pocket – Elaine Grigg (Central District/Broadview)
Full Forward – Lauren Young (West Adelaide/Goodwood Saints)
Half-Forward Flank – India Rasheed (Sturt/Glenunga)
Centre Half-Back – Poppy Scholz (Glenelg/Mitcham)
Interchange – Brooke Boileau (South Adelaide/Mount Compass)
Interchange – Jemma Whittington-Charity (Woodville-West Torrens/Henley)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.