Ben Ridgway wins 2022 McCallum Tomkins Medal

Glenelg captain Ben Ridgway has won the 2022 McCallum Tomkins Medal. Picture - Peter Argent


Glenelg captain Ben Ridgway has become the second successive Tigers skipper to win the McCallum Tomkins Medal after Hugh Stagg saluted in 2021.

Proudly sporting the treasured No.5 guernsey in honour of premiership captain Peter Carey, Ridgway polled a total of 17 votes to edge ahead of powerful Sturt forward Chad Reschke and North midfielder Billy Dowling on 15.

Averaging an impressive 24 disposals, six tackles and four clearances this season, the 17-year-old polled first preferences in four matches while attracting votes in a total of seven games in 2022.

Originally playing his junior football with Edwardstown before moving to Brighton, Ridgway impressed with his leadership this season while helping the Bays qualify for the major round.

Eligible for the 2023 AFL Draft, Ridgway managed to play one game for the Torrens University SA U18 team – against Western Australia – despite being an ”under-ager” in 2022.

Prior to 2009, the McCallum Medal was awarded to the best-and-fairest U17 player and the Tomkins Medal was awarded to the best-and-fairest U19 player.

Tigers captain Ben Ridgway celebrates a goal this year. Picture – Peter Argent

2022 McCallum Tomkins Medal Leaderboard

Player Club Votes
Ben Ridgway Glenelg 17
Chad Reschke Sturt 15
Billy Dowling North 15
Kobe Ryan West 14
Jayden Davis Glenelg 11
Taj Rahui Norwood 11
Tom Scully West 10
Trent Tattoli Central 10
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.