League Archive

Amazing Race for Ken Farmer Medal

Joint 2020 Ken Farmer Medallists - Liam McBean (Glenelg) (left) and James Rowe (Eagles). Picture - Chloe Holliday


Joint 2020 Ken Farmer Medallists Liam McBean and James Rowe have recounted the frantic finish which resulted in the first tie for SANFL’s Leading Goal Kicker award since 1932.

Glenelg spearhead McBean told SANFL Radio he thought his chances of reeling Rowe in were shot during the Tigers’ match against Sturt in Round 14.

But when last year’s Ken Farmer Medallist was told by a member of the crowd at Unley that he had suddenly tied, he floated deeper into attack in an attempt to win outright.

It wasn’t to be as Rowe, who led by three goals heading into the final minor round clash, managed a major against Central District to ensure he too was a fitting recipient of the award named in honour of North Adelaide champion Ken Farmer.

It is understood to be just the fourth time there has been a tie for SANFL’s Leading Goal Kicker award, which became known as the Ken Farmer Medal in 1981.

McBean now becomes just the fourth Tiger to win the award on more than one occasion, joining Fred Phillis (five), Colin Churchett (four) and Jack Owens (three).

Dynamic small forward Rowe, the son of former Crow and Norwood premiership rover Stephen, is just the fourth Eagles’ Ken Farmer Medallist since the club’s merger in 1991.

He joins Scott Morphett (1991), Mark Passador (2006) and Michael Wundke (2014) after finishing level on 38 goals for the season with McBean.


Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.