2024 SANFL U18 State Academy announced

Norwood's Jay Polkinghorne in action during the U17 Futures match on SANFL Grand Final day. Picture - Peter Argent


A 32-player squad has been announced for the 2024 SANFL U18 State Academy to begin in November. 

Set to span 11 weeks either side of the Christmas break, the SANFL U18 State Academy will include three training sessions a week at Thebarton Oval.

Together with traditional football training and gym sessions, players will also be afforded the opportunity to take part in Yoga and Sports Psychology amongst other educational units.

Players will also have the chance to taste what life is like in the elite system with a week in late January scheduled to be spent at the Adelaide Football Club.

SA U18 Boys Coach and Academy Manager Tony Bamford will again oversee the program with SANFL staff including Head of Talent Brenton Phillips, Heath Younie, Jack Hannath and Tom Debenedictis.

Talented midfielders Sid Draper and Phoenix Hargrave (South Adelaide), Ben and Lucas Camporeale (Glenelg) and Eagle Kade Herbert are expected to be ones to watch throughout 2024.

Adelaide fans will be excited about father-son forward prospect Tyler Welsh (Scott Welsh) while Power supporters will be closely following the progress of Rome Burgoyne (Peter Burgoyne).

Eagles ruckman Tom Luck is among the prominent tall prospects while Sturt’s Sam Waltham and Norwood’s Jay Polkinghorne also have nice aerial traits as key forwards.

Seven bottom-age players, who are eligible for the 2025 AFL Draft, have been selected including promising Central District trio Dyson Sharp, Joshua Reichelt and Aiden Schubert.

South Adelaide’s Phoenix Hargrave in action this season. Picture – Peter Argent

2024 SANFL U18 State Academy

Player (* Bottom age) SANFL Club
Charlie Nicholls Central District
James Noack Central District
Tallan Rosenzweig Central District
Dyson Sharp* Central District
Joshua Reichelt* Central District
Aidan Schubert* Central District
Ben Camporeale Glenelg
Lucas Camporeale Glenelg
Harrison Ramm Glenelg
Angus Clarke Glenelg
Luke Candy* Glenelg
Louie Montgomerie North Adelaide
Evan Bradley North Adelaide
Blake Oudshoorn-Bennier* North Adelaide
Sam Cumming* North Adelaide
Jacob Newton Norwood
Jay Polkinghorne Norwood
Sid Draper South Adelaide
Phoenix Hargrave South Adelaide
Dakota Sterzl South Adelaide
Jacob Sheean South Adelaide
Sam Waltham Sturt
Cameron Kelly Sturt
Harley Barker* Sturt
Tom Luck Woodville-West Torrens
Tyler Welsh Woodville-West Torrens
Kade Herbert Woodville-West Torrens
Rome Burgoyne Woodville-West Torrens
Charlie West Woodville-West Torrens
Tate Delmenico Woodville-West Torrens
Harry Dodd Woodville-West Torrens
Jett Hasting Woodville-West Torrens
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.