2023 Torrens University SA U16 Talent Hub

West Adelaide's Harper Ryan, the brother of Bloods League player Kobe Ryan, has been selected in the 2023 Torrens University SA U16 Talent Hub. Picture - Peter Argent


The 2023 Torrens University SA U16 Talent Hub selections have been released, with 49 players set to attend a high-performance camp next week.

The first phase in preparations for the AFL U16 National Championships, the Torrens University SA U16 Talent Hub will feature three days of intense training on and off the field at Thebarton Oval from Wednesday April 26 to Friday April 28.

GPS and top end speed testing will take place on Thursday ahead of the main training session in the afternoon, ahead of a beach recovery session.

Education sessions focusing on public speaking, social media, strength and conditioning, team building, goal setting and Yoga will also be presented.

Familiar names in the Hub include Ben Francou (North Adelaide) and Gill Wakelin (Sturt), the sons of Port Adelaide greats Josh Francou and Darryl Wakelin.

Double Blue Louis Kellaway is the son of former Richmond utility Duncan Kellaway while West’s Lukas Eagleton is the son of former Power, Western Bulldogs and Bloods left-footer Nathan Eagleton.

Central’s Dougie Cochrane, the son of former Power and North Melbourne utility Stuart Cochrane, is among three underage selections together with South Adelaide pair Cain Florance and Brodie Bretones.

The Torrens University SA U16 team will play three matches at the AFL National Championships, against Western Australia in Perth on June 25 and against Victoria Metro (July 4) and Victoria Country (July 7) on the Gold Coast.

Central’s Dougie Cochrane celebrates a goal in Round 4. Picture – Peter Argent

2023 Torrens University SA U16 Talent Hub (* Underage Player)

Player SANFL Club
Dyson Sharp Central District
Matt LeRay Central District
Joshua Reichelt Central District
Ayden Colbourne Central District
Kai Evans Central District
Aiden Schubert Central District
Dougie Cochrane* Central District
Timothy Alver Glenelg
Luke Candy Glenelg
Darby Fitzgerald Glenelg
Reed Francis-Nia Nia Glenelg
Ned McCarthy Glenelg
Harry Hosking Glenelg
Rex Jones Glenelg
Blake Oudhoorn-Bennier North Adelaide
Sam Cumming North Adelaide
Charlie Dickenson North Adelaide
Ben Francou North Adelaide
Lachlan Gardner North Adelaide
Jayden Hawkins North Adelaide
Will Prescott Norwood
Jim Kelly Norwood
Jeff Rozenbilds Norwood
Toby Callow Norwood
Jack Hayter Norwood
Robert Varcoe Norwood
Cameron Woods South Adelaide
Brady McDonald South Adelaide
Elliott Duffield South Adelaide
Jesse Nye South Adelaide
Cain Florance* South Adelaide
Brodie Bretones* South Adelaide
Harley Barker Sturt
Noah Roberts-Thomson Sturt
Gill Wakelin Sturt
Blake Thredgold Sturt
Louis Kellaway Sturt
Gus Downs West Adelaide
Lukas Eagleton West Adelaide
Diego Bueti West Adelaide
Harper Ryan West Adelaide
Joseph Raphael West Adelaide
Jaylen Sochacki West Adelaide
Jack Cook Woodville-West Torrens
Logan Hughes Woodville-West Torrens
Brock Jamieson Woodville-West Torrens
Zane Peucker Woodville-West Torrens
Lachlan Sands Woodville-West Torrens
James Chalubek Woodville-West Torrens
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.