2022 SANFL U17 Futures Squad

Sturt's Luca Slade is among the 64 players chosen for the 2022 SANFL U17 Futures Squad. Picture - Peter Argent


A 64-player SANFL U17 Futures Squad has been released ahead of the program beginning on Thursday September 1.

As many as 44 of South Australia’s most talented Under-17s have been listed, headlined by exciting South goalsneak Jack Delean, Sturt midfielder Luca Slade, West utility Will Patton and Eagles forward Patrick Weckert, who will make his SANFL League debut on Saturday.

All of these players will be eligible for the 2023 AFL Draft, with the SANFL U17 Futures program the first step towards next year’s SA U18 Talent Hub.

The 2022 squad is also made up of 20 U16 players, including several of this year’s victorious Torrens University SA U16 team in Glenelg’s Lucas Camporeale, Sturt’s Ned Atkinson, South’s Sid Draper and the Eagles’ Tyler Welsh.

Training, under head coach Tony Bamford, will take place at Thebarton Oval around U16 and U18 SANFL Finals across a three-week period.

The program will culminate in a showcase U17 Futures match being played at Adelaide Oval on  SANFL Grand Final day, Sunday September 18.

Only players not participating for their SANFL club in an U16 or U18 Torrens University Cup Grand Final will be available for the U17 Futures match.

2022 SANFL U17 Future Squad

Player (* denotes U16 player) SANFL Club
Jayden Matz Central
Trent Tattoli Central
Will McCabe Central
Liam Fawcett Central
James Noack* Central
Riley McDonald* Central
Ben Ridgway Glenelg
Ashton Moir Glenelg
Harry Francis Glenelg
Bodie Ryan Glenelg
Ryan Wurfel Glenelg
Eli Redman Glenelg
Lucas Camporeale* Glenelg
Brock Summerhayes* Glenelg
Kallan Bevan* Glenelg
Kane McAuliffe North
Luke Harvey North
Jed Dignan North
Angus Tully North
Tom Stevens* North
Louie Montgomerie* North
PJ Carlin* North
Will Rowlands Norwood
Grant Catalano Norwood
Logan Evans Norwood
Brayden Rachwal Norwood
Jacob Jones Norwood
Jacon Newton* Norwood
Jack Delean South
Tom Wheaton South
Ryan Pearsons South
Blake Rodrigues South
Sid Draper* South
Phoenix Hargrave* South
Jake Agnew* South
Benny Barrett* South
Luca Slade Sturt
Alex Holt Sturt
Loch Rawlinson Sturt
George Pope Sturt
Chad Reschke Sturt
Thomas McCourt Sturt
Fraser Greaves Sturt
Finn Wakelin Sturt
Ted Newman Sturt
Ned Atkinson* Sturt
Alex Dodson* Sturt
Cameron Kelly* Sturt
Will Patton West
Max Downs West
Charlie Haysman West
Oscar Talbot West
Judd Hansen West
Jack Oates West
Sam Burbridge* West
Pat Weckert Woodville-West Torrens
Jedd Thomson Woodville-West Torrens
Oscar Pearce Woodville-West Torrens
Callum Fairall Woodville-West Torrens
Riley Davey Woodville-West Torrens
Brody Mair Woodville-West Torrens
Tom Luck* Woodville-West Torrens
Tyler Welsh* Woodville-West Torrens
Kade Herbert* Woodville-West Torrens
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.