SA Inclusive Team wins AFL National Inclusion Carnival

South Australia celebrates its maiden AFL National Inclusion title.


South Australia has won its first AFL National Inclusion Carnival after stunning arch-rival Victoria Metro with a nail-biting five-point win in the Division 1 Grand Final at Angaston Oval.

Coached by Dave Couzner, the Croweaters lost just two matches en route to the the title-decider after qualifying to play in the highest division at the four-day tournament.

The hosts led for most of the match before the Vics fought back to take the lead in the last quarter, only to see SA regain it with a game-breaking goal.

SA’s Luke Goodman was named best-on-ground, while his twin brother Jesse lifted the trophy as Croweaters’ captain.

Both Jesse and Luke Goodman were named in the All-Australian team, alongside teammate Jack White.

Steven Hall was adjudged SA’s Most Valuable Player while James McBride took home the Matthew Nitschke Spirit of the Carnival Award.

Despite losing to Victoria Metro in the final match of the Lightning Carnival (qualifying period), SA turned the tables when it mattered most to claim its inaugural crown since the Championships began in 2014.

SA succumbed to the Big V again on Monday but the form it built with successive victories against Western Australia and Tasmania on Wednesday proved pivotal.


South Australia will be making the most of its home ground advantage when it hosts the 2022 Toyota AFL National Inclusion Carnival, from November 5 to 11.

Coached by Dave Couzner, the Croweaters have selected a talented 16-player squad to compete on the national stage for the first time since 2019.

After a welcome function is held on Saturday, matches will commence at the Angaston Football Club on Sunday with a Lightning Carnival to determine the divisional placements for the rest of the week.

States will then be divided into two pools, with pool matches conducted on Monday November 7 and Wednesday November 9.

Final placings will be determined on Thursday November 10 when finals are played as Northern Territory looks to defend its crown won three years ago.

SA players celebrate after a goal at the AFL National Inclusive Carnival.

Victoria Metro has dominated since the carnival’s inception, winning five titles in succession before the Top End breakthrough in 2019.

Matches will be played in a modified format, including 10-minute quarters while teams can have 12 players on the field, with four on the interchange.

Introduced in 2014, the AFL’s National Inclusion Carnival provides players with an intellectual disability with the opportunity to represent their State with pride.

SA’s team will include the experience of Kenilworth’s Jesse Goodman, who has previously donned the cherished red guernsey while players from fellow APM SANFL Inclusive League clubs Salisbury, Eastern Park, Kilburn, Goodwood Saints and Christies Beach have also been chosen.

Couzner, a board member at SANFL club Woodville-West Torrens, will be assisted in the coaches box by Eagles players Jesse Lonergan and Annie Falkenberg, together with League assistant Matt Knight.

2022 SA Inclusive Team

Guernsey No. Player Club
1 Andrew Doecke Salisbury
2 Jesse Goodman Kenilworth
3 Jaydn Bibl Eastern Park
4 Koddee McKenzie Kilburn
5 James McBride Salisbury
6 Jack White Salisbury
7 Luke Goodman Goodwood Saints
8 Harrison Mallard Kenilworth
9 Rhys Baker Goodwood Saints
10 Brennan Butler Kenilworth
11 Caleb Bruppacher-Rigney Kenilworth
12 Alex Scott Eastern Park
13 Daniel Johnston Kenilworth
14 Ethan Glover-Lindsay Christies Beach
17 Steven Hall Salisbury
18 Franz Pierson Goodwood Saints
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.