Women's Footy

2019 Central Allies U18 Girls Results


The Central Allies have finished their AFL U18 Youth Girls National Championships campaign with a gutsy one-point win against Queensland on Friday.

Defeating the Eastern Allies in Game 1, the Central Allies finished with a positive 2-1 win-loss record for the three-match carnival, an improvement on last year’s campaign which failed to yield a victory on the Gold Coast.

Statewide Super Women’s League stars Jaimi Tabb, Montana McKinnon and Teah Charlton all had strong performances in all three matches while Eagles pair Kiana Lee and Teagan Usher all displayed promising signs.

Talented ruck McKinnon, who floated back into defence to take plenty of marks around the ground, was named the Central Allies’ MVP of the Championships.

Monday 8th July – Game 1

Central Allies 5.6 (36) d Eastern Allies (NSW/ACT-Tas) 4.8 (32) at Metricon Stadium

BEST – Central Allies: Teah Charlton, Montana McKinnon, Jaimi Tabb, Kiana Lee, Teagan Usher, Madisyn Freeman.

GOALS – Central Allies: Jaimi Tabb, Hannah Munyard, Bella Smith, Alysha Healy, Tayla Hart-Aluni


Wednesday 10th July – Game 2

WA 5.2 (32) d Central Allies 1.2 (8) at Southport Oval

BEST – Central Allies:  Teagan Usher, Jaimi Tabb, Madison Newman, Bella Smith, Amber Ward, Teah Charlton.

GOALS – SA: Teah Charlton.


Friday 12th July – Game 3

Central Allies 5.0 (30) v Queensland 4.5 (29) at Bond University

BEST – Central Allies: Teah Charlton, Stephanie Williams, Hannah Manyard, Mattea Breed, Amber Ward, Alysha Healy.

GOALS – Central Allies: Mattea Breed 2, Stephanie Williams 2, Kiana Lee.

Central Allies midfielder Jaimi Tabb takes a bounce at Metricon Stadium. Pictures – Peter Argent


South Australia has dominated selection in the 2019 Central Allies Squad to contest the U18 AFL Youth Girls National Championships on the Gold Coast.

As many as 16 of the 24 players selected are Croweaters, with several Statewide Super Women’s League stars set to take centre stage from Monday July 8 to Friday July 12.

South Adelaide premiership players Teah Charlton, Hannah Munyard and Montana McKinnon will all have an impact while SANFL Women’s Team of the Year members Kimberly Fry, Madison Newman and Amber Ward will also play important defensive roles.

Speaking on SANFL Radio, SANFL Female Talent Manager Robbie Neill said Panthers forward Indy Tahau, who won the medal as best afield in the 2019 Statewide Super Women’s League Grand Final, had been ruled out with an ankle injury.

Tahau has been replaced by Glenelg’s Tamsyn Morriss, who will be eager to make the most of her unexpected opportunity.

South Australia’s Bill Economou and Emma Sampson will be assistant coaches supporting head coach Heidi Thompson from the Northern Territory.

2019 Central Allies Squad

* Eligible for the 2019 AFLW Draft

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.