SA Country footy grand finals wrap – Part Two

In the second part of a wrap of regional league Grand Finals played in recent weeks, here’s a snapshot of all the results and standout players in leagues across the State.


Great Southern FL

McClaren Football Club collected its second flag, and first in two decades, after defeating Willunga Demons in a windswept 2022 GFSL season decider at Goolwa Oval. Only seven points separated the combatants at half time before the McLaren Eagles began to control the game, running out winners 11.13 (79) to 5.5 (35). In the 44-point win, the Eagles best included midfielders Todd McKay (former South Adelaide and SA state under 18s player), Brett Ellis and Lachlan Matthews, defenders Ashley Goodieson, Jamie Smith and Kiefver Zohar.

Jordan Mutton and West End Medallist Luke Mitton kicked three goals each for the victors

Demons who took the eye included Danny Juckers, Tyson Hoffmann and defender Danny Irvine.

McLaren Eagles celebrate their second Premiership in the club’s history. Picture courtesy Fleurieu Sun newspaper

Hills FL Division 1

The Hills FL Division 1 grand final was played between the perennial contenders Hahndorf Magpies versus Lobethal Tigers at Nairne Oval. The game was a heart stopper with Lobethal winning by just three points, kicking the only goals of the final term to run out winners 7.9 (51) to 6.12 (48). Best for the Tigers were multiple goal kickers Matthew Fuller and Peter Bampton – two goals apiece, along with James Braidwood, Jacob Collins, Aiden Riley and Norwood Magarey Medallist Mitch Grigg.

Better Magpies players included Sam Hayden, siblings Joel and Troy Parker-Boers, Daniel Roberts, Trent Male and Brayden Hopgood.

Hills FL Country Division

As per Division 1, the Country Division was also a cliff-hanger finish with only 3 points separating Meadows from the Gumeracha Magpies at Macclesfield Oval. The game was hard fought with Meadows competing valiantly after half time, however they fell just short with the magpies hanging on for a tight three-point win 6.11 (47) to 6.8(44).

The Magpies’ leading performers were James Taylor, Daniel Trepka, Charlie Graeber, skipper Ben Hanna, his brother former Central District player Sam and Ethan Lynch.

Meadows best included Jack Dalgleish, Luke Smart, Billy Cameron, former club legend returning to his foundation club this year Brady Dawe, Toby Crowden and Samuel Sobey.

River Murray FL

Played at the Jervois Sports Club, the Bluds, after winning the second semi-final, were favourites on Grand Final day, and were 15 points up at half time.

Enter evergreen all-round country sporting legend Luke Harrowfield, a former state country footballer and cricketer. Imperials kicked 5.9 in the third quarter and went on to win the decider, 11.18 (84) to 7.7 (49).

Along with Harrowfield, Ben Gogel, Louis De Michele, Nathan Daish and Ryan Farnham were brilliant for the victors.

For the disappointed Jervois Bluds, Josiah Farrer, Ben Hansen, Tom and Luke Kluske, along with former Glenelg premiership forward Joshua Scott, were their leading performers.

Riverland FL

The Renmark Rovers continued is dominance of the RFL, defeating the Waikerie Magpies by 31 points on the expanses of Barmera Oval.

In a low scoring affair, the Josh Vater-led Rovers were 19 points up at half time and won, 8.15 (63) to the Magpies modest 4.8 (32).

Ricky Garrett, SA country representative player Timothy Woolford and Zachary Gartery were the Rovers’ best, followed by, Dan Woolford, Vater and Fraser Sampson.

For the Magpies, Ben Smith, Timothy Bevan, Matthew Spencely and Craig Miller were all serviceable.

Riverland Independent FL

In the last game under the RFL banner, the Riverland Independent Football League Grand final was played on Ramco Oval, with Blanchetown-Swan Reach edging out the Sedan-Cambrai Magpies by 13 points, 10.7 (67) to 8.6 (54).

Two points separated the sides at the long interval, with BSR kicking five goals to three in the second half.

For BSR, Jackson Le Couteur, Adam Grieger and Adam Falkenberg were outstanding. Jack Schultz, Brock Hutchings, Bradley Nicolai also played sufficient roles in the triumph.

Sedan-Cambrai’s Matt Clark was strong, followed by David Oakley, Jed Martinson, Andrew Mapstone, and Troy Cowland.

Western Border FL

At Vansittart Park Oval in the heart of the Mount, Millicent took an eight-point ascendancy over South Gambier into the long interval, before setting up the premiership with a huge seven-goal third term.

This was a fourth WBFL flag for the Saints, getting home 17.9 (111) to the Demons 9.17 (71).

The “Mick Ryan Medallist” for best on ground was Dylan Bromley. Other best players for Millicent were Sam Willis with four goals, Frazer Bradley, Jacob Carger, returning AFL footballer Thomas Hutchesson who was key in the pivotal third quarter, and half forward Hamish Nitschke.

Outside player Mitchell Sims, centre half back Todd Reid, on baller Hamish Stevens, Joshua Woodall, Brock Keding and Taylor Saffin all worked gallantly for the Demons.

Whyalla FL

At the magnificent Bennett Oval, Central Whyalla collected the 2022 WFL title by a comfortable 32-point margin, 8.8 (56) to 2.12 (24).

Marko Tansell lead the way with a brilliant individual effort for the Roosters followed by Macorhin Rosalia, Jackson Taylor, Sam Marshall and Kade Gale-Jones.

Michael Baker, Steven Jackson, Dylan Mckerlie, Brandon Delgiacco and Dylan Harris were Weeroona Bay Tigers who stood up on the day.

Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara FL

At Gall Park Oval in Kingston (SE), Lucindale came from behind in a low-scoring affair against Keith, with Hamish Gordon kicking the match sealer.

Minor premiers in 2022, the Roos kicked 5.16 (46) to 5.8 (38) in tough Grand Final conditions.

Returned Bays player Bradley McCarthy, Riley Mcfarlane, Hamish Gordon, import Scott Foord-Spriggs, Jamie McCarthy and Tom Logan were best for Lucindale.

Keith coach George Thring, half forward George Johnson, Nick van den berg, defender Seamus and William McMurray (River Murray Medallist in 2020) worked hard for the Keith Crows.


Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.