Torrens University SA U16 Team Win AFL National Championship

The victorious Torrens University SA U16 Championship Team. Picture - Peter Argent


The Torrens University SA U16 Team has stormed home to win the 2022 NAB AFL National Championship after a blistering 63-point win against Victoria Country in Game 3 at Thebarton Oval.

Having defeated Western Australia by 48 points in Game 1 and losing by just three points to Victoria Metro in Game 2, the Croweaters were still in the hunt to win the title after the Sandgropers upset Victoria Metro earlier on Saturday by 16 points.

And Julian Farkas’ charges made the most of their opportunity by putting down the accelerator with a sensational seven-goal final term against the boys from the Victorian bush.

Leading at every change, the Croweaters knew they needed to continue to hit the scoreboard regularly to secure victory on percentage after two other teams – Victoria Metro and WA – also secured two triumphs.

As many as 11 players registered a goal for the hosts as they made the most of a 52-36 advantage in inside 50m entries and a 31-20 edge in clearances.

Torrens University SA U16 Leaders – (L to R) Ned Atkinson (Vice Captain), Sid Draper (Captain), Lucas Camporeale (Vice Captain). Picture – Peter Argent

With captain Sid Draper still sidelined with a fractured thumb suffered in Game 1, SA was well led by joint acting captain Ned Atkinson with 25 disposals, eight marks, four clearances, four inside 50s and a goal through the midfield.

Fellow Double Blue Wil Thomas was extremely creative inside 50m for SA with two goals and at least two goal assists from his 15 disposals and three marks.

Norwood’s Jacob Newton racked up 18 disposals and a long goal in the final term while Harry Dodd, Cameron Kelly and Louie Montgomery, who booted two goals, also had a positive influence for SA.

Tall Central District defender Will McCabe was named SA’s Most Valuable Player of the carnival for his consistency across the three outings, regularly leading his opponents to the ball while ensuring they didn’t hit the scoreboard.

The victory is the sixth U16 AFL National Championship won by South Australia, following on from triumphs in 2010, 2011, 2014, 2016 and 2018.

Torrens University SA U16 MVP – Will McCabe (left) with NAB AFL Academy Manager Tarkyn Lockyer. Picture – Peter Argent


South Australia  2.1  4.8  7.13  14.15 (99)

Victoria Country  1.4  2.6  4.6  5.6 (36)

BEST – SA: Ned Atkinson, Wil Thomas, Jacob Newton, Harry Dodd, Cameron Kelly, Louie Montgomery

GOALS – SA: Thomas, Montgomery, Ryan 2, Atkinson, Newton, Tasker, L. Camporeale, Dodson, Oudshoorn-Bennier, West, Carlin

SA MVP – Will McCabe (Central District)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.