Women's Footy

Teah Charlton wins 2019 Powerade Breakthrough Player Award


South Adelaide sensation Teah Charlton has won the 2019 Powerade Breakthrough Player Award after heading a fine field of contestants from the SANFL Statewide Super Women’s League.

Joining fellow Panther Nikki Gore, who won the award last year, Charlton displayed her eye-catching potential with her quality finishes in front of goal and clean hands while marking overhead.

Recruited from the Christies Beach Football Club, the 17-year-old averaged 15.5 possessions per game and booted 10 goals for the season while spending time in attack and through the midfield.

Overcoming stress fractures in her shins which crippled her 2018 campaign, Charlton was nominated for the Powerade Breakthrough Player Award for her performance in Round 3 in which she collected 19 disposals and kicked a goal against West Adelaide.

Charlton earns a $1,000 cash prize and trophy courtesy of Powerade.

2019 Powerade Breakthrough Player Nominees

Round 1 – Madison Newman (West)
Round 2 – Caitlin Gould (Glenelg)
Round 3 – Teah Charlton (South)
Round 4 – Laitiah Huynh (Central)
Round 5 – Lucy Armitage (Glenelg)
Round 6 – Indy Tahau (South)
Round 7 – Kiana Lee (Eagles)
Round 8 – Kimberley Fry (Central)
Round 9 – Zoe Venning (West)
Round 10 – Samantha Franson (Glenelg)

Teah Charlton gets a handball away against Sturt. Picture – Nick Hook

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.