Sturt win 2022 Reserves Premiership

Sturt's victorious Reserves team after winning the 2022 premiership. Picture - Peter Argent

Sturt half-back Mihail Lochowiak with the Bob Lee Medal as best afield. Picture – Peter Argent


Sturt claimed its first Reserves premiership in five years on the back of a slick first half as it eclipsed North Adelaide by 31 points in the Grand Final at Adelaide Oval. 

The Double Blues kicked seven of the first eight goals of the contest to effectively shut the door on the Roosters after leading by 29 points at half-time.

Dashing half-back Mihail Lochowiak set the tone for Chris Trapp’s charges, booting the opening goal of the game from just inside 50m en route to winning the Bob Lee Medal as best afield.

Lochowiak, who was playing alongside his brothers Anzac and Jacob, finished with 22 disposals, 10 marks five tackles and six rebound 50s.

Fellow backman Charlie Fryer was incredibly disciplined for Sturt, keeping North’s late inclusion Tyson Brazel, squeezed out of the League team, to just one mark and two handballs as his side won its first Reserves title since 2017.

Blues ruckman Amos Doyle got things rolling inside the centre square, racking up 31 hit outs while collecting 15 disposals and four clearances while goalsneak Blake Tabe made the most of his chances to kick three goals from eight disposals.

North, seeking its first Reserves flag since 2018, was well served by Jared Deep with a game-high 27 possessions and nine marks while Declan Fahey and Lam Simon each had 20 disposals.

Rooster Matthew Longbottom battled hard for 17 touches, six clearances and 10 tackles but ultimately his side was wasteful in front of goal, booting an inaccurate 4.10 (34) while having just one less scoring shot than Sturt.

Sturt’s Blake Tabe celebrates one of his three goals. Picture – Peter Argent

North’s Harrison McKenzie celebrates after kicking the opening goal of the game. Picture – Peter Argent

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.