League Archive

Statewide Super League Top 50 – No.28


Norwood’s Brad McKenzie loves to kick the footy.

And there’s a very good reason why when you consider he boasts an incredibly high 98 per cent disposal efficiency from last season.

Averaging 22.5 disposals – more than 18 were kicks – in 2019, McKenzie sparked plenty of the Redlegs’ attacking forays with 6.2 rebound 50s per game.

An elite left-foot kick, he is regularly entrusted with the kick-ins by coach Jarrod Cotton and the former North Melbourne defender rarely misses a target.

Well-respected by all at The Parade, the 26-year-old won the 2019 Michael Taylor Medal as the club’s best-and-fairest.

McKenzie was also a very deserving selection in the back pocket of the 2019 The Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year.

Expect him to continue being a critical member of the Redlegs’ back six in the years to come.

Selected by SANFL Media Producer Zac Milbank, the 2020 Statewide Super League Top 50 is being unveiled one player at a time on the League’s website and social media channels.

For incumbent SANFL players, form across the 2019 season was used as a significant factor in the selection process, with selection in The Advertiser Team of the Year, West End State squad, club leadership group and placings in club best-and-fairest weighing heavily.

This is to ensure there is meaningful movement of player rankings between each year’s Top 50 list at the start and end of the season.

Recruits to the Statewide Super League for 2020 have also been included, with significant AFL experience, performance at State League level and their predicted impact proving critical in deciding the order of players.


Age: 26
Height: 186cm
Weight: 84kg
Position: Medium Defender
SANFL Club: Norwood
Community Club: Payneham Norwood Union FC
SANFL Debut: Round 20, 2011
SANFL Games: 53

Statewide Super League Top 50

28 – Brad McKenzie (Norwood)
29 – Matthew Rose (South)
30 – James Rowe (Eagles)
31 – Dom Barry (Norwood)
32 – Justin Hoskin (Central)
33 – Harrison Wigg (North)
34 – Matthew Allen (Glenelg)
35 – Troy Menzel (Central)
36 – Mitch Grigg (Norwood)
37 – Jack Hayes (Eagles)
38 – James Rose (South)
39 – Robbie Young (North)
40 – Andrew Bradley (Glenelg)
41 – Tom Schwarz (North)
42 – Matthew Panos (Norwood)
43 – Brad Agnew (Glenelg)
44 – Cole Gerloff (Norwood)
45 – Matthew Wright (Adelaide)
46 – Dean Gore (Sturt)
47 – Tom Keough (West)
48 – Jesse Lonergan (Eagles)
49 – Alex Spina (North)
50 – Logan Hill (West)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.