League Archive

Statewide Super League Top 50 – No.1


Luke Partington’s record speaks for itself – Glenelg’s star midfielder is the best player in the Statewide Super League heading into the 2020 season.

The ultra-consistent midfielder reveled in his new environment at the Bay in 2019 as he scooped the pool in claiming a bevy of individual awards, headlined by the most prestigious of them all – the Magarey Medal.

Not only did the 23-year-old play a major role in breaking the Tigers’ 33-year premiership drought in his first season at Brighton Road, he also earned a berth as the rover in The Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year.

The former West Coast Eagle also won the R.O Shearman Medal as selected by rival SANFL coaches and the inaugural SANFL Digital Pass Award as selected by the commentators.

Partington finished runner-up to Jesse White in Glenelg’s Club Champion award, partly due to him missing two matches with a hamstring strain early last season.

The boy from Tumby Bay averaged 29 disposals at 82 per cent efficiency, four marks, five tackles, five clearances and six inside 50s while also hitting the scoreboard with 18 goals.

And there were fewer more important majors kicked by Partington than his steadier featured in one of the clips below during the third term of the 2019 Statewide Super League Grand Final.

In another of the SANFL TV clips below, Partington puts on a clinic against the Eagles in Round 12, racking up an impressive stat line of 43 disposals, two goals, eight marks, nine clearances and nine inside 50s in a complete performance.

Quick to become a fan favourite at Glenelg, Partington’s popularity surged when it was announced he signed a three-year deal to remain a Tiger until the end of 2022.

This will give him even more impetus as he looks to continue his stunning form into 2020 for the Bays.

Selected by SANFL Media Producer Zac Milbank, the 2020 Statewide Super League Top 50 was unveiled one player at a time on the League’s website and social media channels.

For incumbent SANFL players, form across the 2019 season was used as a significant factor in the selection process, with selection in The Advertiser Team of the Year, West End State squad, club leadership group and placings in club best-and-fairest awards weighing heavily.

This is to ensure there is meaningful movement of player rankings between each year’s Top 50 list at the start and end of the season.

Recruits to the Statewide Super League for 2020 have also been included, with significant AFL experience, performance at State League level and their predicted impact proving critical in deciding the order of players.


Age: 23
Height: 181cm
Weight: 79kg
Position: Midfielder
SANFL Club: Glenelg
Community Club: Tumby Bay FC
SANFL Debut: Round 13, 2015
SANFL Games: 25

Glenelg’s Magarey Medallist Luke Paertington celebrates his goal in the 2019 Grand Final.

Statewide Super League Top 50

1 – Luke Partington (Glenelg)
2 – Daniel Menzel (Central)
3 – Richard Douglas (Norwood)
4 – Sam Colquhoun (Sturt)
5 – Joel Cross (South)
6 – Matthew Broadbent (South)
7 – Ryan Bastinac (Norwood)
8 – Billy Hartung (North)
9 – Liam McBean (Glenelg)
10 – Sam Baulderstone (Norwood)
11 – Jordan Foote (Eagles)
12 – Jarrod Schiller (Central)
13 – Lewis Johnston (Norwood)
14 – James Battersby (Sturt)
15 – Zane Kirkwood (Sturt)
16 – Max Proud (Glenelg)
17 – Andrew Moore (North)
18 – Luke Reynolds (Glenelg)
19 – Abe Davis (Sturt)
20 – Tyson Goldsack (Port)
21 – Jarred Allmond (North)
22 – Marlon Motlop (Glenelg)
23 – Kaine Stevens (West)
24 – Matthew Snook (Glenelg)
25 – Travis Schiller (Central)
26 – Billy Stretch (Glenelg)
27 – Joseph Haines (South)
28 – Brad McKenzie (Norwood)
29 – Matthew Rose (South)
30 – James Rowe (Eagles)
31 – Dom Barry (Norwood)
32 – Justin Hoskin (Central)
33 – Harrison Wigg (North)
34 – Matthew Allen (Glenelg)
35 – Troy Menzel (Central)
36 – Mitch Grigg (Norwood)
37 – Jack Hayes (Eagles)
38 – James Rose (South)
39 – Robbie Young (North)
40 – Andrew Bradley (Glenelg)
41 – Tom Schwarz (North)
42 – Matthew Panos (Norwood)
43 – Brad Agnew (Glenelg)
44 – Cole Gerloff (Norwood)
45 – Matthew Wright (Adelaide)
46 – Dean Gore (Sturt)
47 – Tom Keough (West)
48 – Jesse Lonergan (Eagles)
49 – Alex Spina (North)
50 – Logan Hill (West)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.