Match Wraps

SANFLW State Team defeat WAFLW

The SANFLW State Team celebrate winning the Kia State Game in Perth. Picture - Ross Starkey


The SANFLW State Team withstood a spirited fight from the WAFLW to claim glory in the historic Women’s State Game in Perth.

After being seriously challenged for State League supremacy, SA kept the home side scoreless in the final quarter to emerge triumphant by 16 points at Optus Stadium.

Glenelg onballer Jessica Bates was named SA’s best player after doing her usual job and picking up numerous possessions.

Highly talented Zipporah Fish was honored with the award as WA’s leading performer.

SA grabbed control of the contest in the opening quarter on the back of relentless pressure, constantly creating turnover ball to go on the attack.

That physical presence was rewarded after six minutes when Sturt’s Alisha Gepp took advantage of turnover ball to kick the opening goal for SA.

The aggressive approach never relaxed and SA again benefitted from its commitment when Tesharna Maher crumbed off the back of the pack and grubbered the ball through for a goal.

It took WA 11 minutes to move the ball forward of centre, so dominant was SA with its tremendous workrate.

The inside 50 count of 14-1 in favour of SA was was glaring evidence of its supremacy. The visitors also had 12 more clearances, enabling them to remain camped deep in attack.

When captain Sam Franson soccered through a goal five minutes into the second term, SA looked in complete control.

But the home side lifted its intensity and tackling pressure to climb back into the game.

Taylor Ferguson kicked a goal in the final seconds of the first half to cut the margin to 12 points at half-time.

Fish sparked much of the action for WA and its pressure continued to create opportunities. The home side capitalised to level the scores in the third quarter.

Star midfielder Jessica Bates won SANFLW’s Best Player Medal.


SANFLW  3.1  4.2  6.3   7.7 (49)

WAFLW  0.0  2.2  5.3   5.3 (33)

BEST – SANFLW: Jessica Bates, Shelby Smith, Alisha Gepp, Caitlin Wendland, Tahlita Buethke

GOALS – SANFLW: Alisha Gepp, Tesharna Maher 2, Sam Franson, Laquoiya Cockatoo-Motlap, Katelyn Rosenzweig

SANFLW Best Player Medal – Jessica Bates

At Optus Stadium, Perth



SANFLW forward Tesharna Maher and Sam Franson (No.5) celebrate a goal. Picture – Tom Campbell

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.