Footy Fix

Round 5 SANFL Footy Fix


Welcome to the Round 5 SANFL Footy Fix, find out all of the latest from the Statewide Super League and U18 Torrens University Cup.

Round 5 SANFL Match Review Panel

Sturt midfielder Steven Slimming has accepted a $200 fine and reprimand with an early guilty plea for striking South co-captain Joel Cross at Peter Motley Oval on Sunday.

Steven Slimming (Sturt) – Striking

Conduct: Intentional

Impact: Low

Contact: Body

Base Sanction: 1 Match

Early Plea: $200 fine and reprimand (Accepted)

Round 5 Powerade Breakthrough Player nominees

Tom Hutchesson (Adelaide) – Recruited from Millicent FC, Hutchesson played a strong role in the Crows’ win against Central, collecting 26 disposals, five clearances, four tackles, eight marks and two inside 50s.


Will Coomblas (Sturt) – In just his second League game, the medium-sized defender took some courageous defensive marks to finish with 13 disposals, eight marks and three tackles.


Dylan Weaver (Central) – The emerging Bulldogs defender continued his steady progression to collect 21 disposals, six marks and four tackles against the Crows.


The Round 5 Powerade Breakthrough Player will be announced during the Round 6 telecast of the Sturt v North clash on Saturday from 2.30pm.


Round 5 U18 Torrens Uni Cup MVP

The Round 5 Torrens Uni Cup MVP nominee is Sturt’s Charlie Allan. From the Unley Football Club, Allan racked up 42 disposals, eight tackles, nine clearances and a goal in the Double Blues’ big win against South.

Round 5 RAA Rookies

There were four RAA Rookies in Round 5 of the Statewide Super League.

Liam Verity (North Adelaide) – Modbury FC
Jack Elsworthy (Port Adelaide) – Kadina FC
Brett Kennedy (South Adelaide) – Pooraka FC
Lee Hoey (South Adelaide) – Morphett Vale FC

SANFL Digital Pass Player of the Year


West v Glenelg – Votes by Peter Argent
3) Chris Curran (Glenelg)
2) Max Proud (Glenelg)
1) Lachlan Hosie (Glenelg)

North v Norwood – Votes by Alli Evans
3) Jarred Allmond (North)
2) Peter Bampton (Norwood)
1) Matthew Panos (Norwood)

Eagles v Port – Votes by Zac Milbank
3) Jack Trengove (Port)
2) Peter Ladhams (Port)
1) Billy Frampton (Port)

Sturt v South – Votes by Bernie Mahoney
3) Sam Colquhoun (Sturt)
2) Zane Kirkwood (Sturt)
1) Steven Slimming (Sturt)

12 – Jack Trengove (Port)
9 – Lewis Johnston (Norwood)
8 – Zane Kirkwood (Sturt)
6 – Jarred Allmond (North)
5 – Chris Curran (Glenelg), Peter Ladhams (Port), Sam Colquhoun (Sturt)
4 – Joel Cross (South), Patrick Wilson (Adelaide)
3- Matt Panos (Norwood), Myles Poholke, Hugh Greenwood (Adelaide), Justin Hoskin (Central), Liam McBean (Glenelg), Max Thring (North), Kaine Stevens (West), Jack Hayes (Eagles)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.