Women's Footy

REPLAY: NAB AFLW All-Stars Match

Team Marinoff's Tessa Kohn with the ball. Picture - AFL Media

Team Marinoff overcome a slow start to earn an 11-point win against Team Hatchard in the NAB AFLW All-Stars match at Thebarton Oval on Friday night.

Despite managing just one goal in the opening quarter, Team Marinoff trailed by just two points at half-time.

And after slamming on three goals in the third term, the Emma Sampson-coached side was able to hang on in the last quarter despite not managing to trouble the scorers.

Norwood’s Jessica Macolino and Sturt’s Alex Ballard were standouts for Team Marinoff as South’s Brooklyn Kraft also had an impact as the team’s only multiple goal scorer.

Team Hatchard, coached by dual premiership mentor Krissie Steen, jumped out of the blocks to boot its three goals in the opening term before managing just six behinds after the first change.

North premiership defender Amber Ward stood tall for Team Hatchard while South midfielder Czenya Cavouras and promising young Sturt ruck Zoe Prowse also played well.

Glenelg’s Brooke Tonon booted two of the three goals for Team Hatchard.

Roosters Ashleigh Woodland (head knock) and Katelyn Pope (broken wrist) suffered injuries in the fourth quarter.

Team Hatchard’s Alana Lishmund kicks clear. Picture – AFL Media


TEAM MARINOFF  1.0  3.1  6.1  6.1 (37)
TEAM HATCHARD  3.2  3.3  3.4  3.8 (26)

BEST – Team Marinoff: Jessica Macolino, Alex Ballard, Brooklyn Kraft, Nicole Campbell, Emma Smith.

Team Hatchard: Amber Ward, Czenya Cavouras, Zoe Prowse, Matilda Zander, Tamsyn Morriss.

GOALS – Team Marinoff: Brooklyn Kraft 2, Lauren Clifton, Jorja Eldridge, Jess Kirk, Jessica Macolino.

Team Hatchard: Brooke Tonon 2, Alana Lishmund.

Team Hatchard (Yellow)

Number Player SANFL Club Local Club
1 Charlotte Dolan Eagles SMOSH West Lakes
2 Grace Duffy Glenelg Christies Beach
3 Madisyn Freeman Glenelg Salisbury
4 Izzy Kuiper Sturt Mount Lofty
5 Brooke Tonon Glenelg East Gambier
6 Ashleigh Woodland North Salisbury
7 Tahlita Buethke South McLaren
8 Czenya Cavouras South Christies Beach
9 Julia Clark North Broadview
10 Alana Lishmund Norwood Hope Valley
11 Tahlia Meyer South Morphettville Park
12 Tamsyn Morriss Glenelg Flagstaff Hill
13 Hannah Prenzler Sturt Mitcham
14 Zoe Prowse Sturt Mount Lofty
15 Erin Sundstrom North Bond University (Qld)
16 Zoe Venning West Blackwood
17 Matilda Zander Norwood Adelaide University
18 Abbie Ballard West Strathalbyn
19 Cristie Castle North Angle Vale
20 Jamie Parish Eagles SMOSH West Lakes
21 Rayne Rivalland South Kenilworth
22 Katelyn Rosenzweig Central Salisbury
23 Rhiannon Busch Norwood Payneham
24 Amber Ward North Broadview

Team Marinoff (Red)

Number Player SANFL Club Local Club
1 Kate Case North Orroroo
2 Emma Smith West West SAWFL
3 Alex Ballard Sturt Mitcham
4 Nicole Campbell South Christies Beach
5 Lauren Clifton South Willunga
6 Latiah Huynh Central Salisbury
7 Leah Cutting Norwood Morphettville Park
8 Andie Zbierski North Old Ignations
9 Tegan Usher Eagles SMOSH West Lakes
10 Lauren Gauci North Broadview
11 Jess Kirk South Christies Beach
12 Tessa Kohn Glenelg Morphettville Park
13 Brooklyn Kraft South Adelaide University
14 Madison Lane Central Barossa District
15 Jessica Macolino Norwood Adelaide University
16 Bella Smith Norwood Payneham
17 Kiana Lee Eagles SMOSH West Lakes
18 Jorja Eldridge North Whyalla
19 Jade Halfpenny Norwood Golden Grove
21 Katelyn Pope North Broadview
25 Kristi Harvey North Adelaide University
27 Gypsy Schirmer South Christies Beach
28 Tesharna Maher Eagles SMOSH West Lakes/Alkimilya (CAFL)
42 Shelby Smith Central Eastern Park


Two of South Australia’s most distinguished AFLW draftees have been recognised with their surnames adorning the two teams set to play in Friday’s NAB AFLW All-Stars Match at Thebarton Oval.

All-Australian Ebony Marinoff and Crows AFLW Club Champion Anne Hatchard will be honoured when Team Marinoff and Team Hatchard collide under lights from 6.45pm.

Team Hatchard will be coached by dual SANFLW premiership mentor Krissie Steen, with Hatchard herself acting as the runner while Team Marinoff will be guided by Roosters premiership assistant Emma Sampson.

The highly anticipated contest will feature 48 of the best players from the Statewide Super Women’s League as they showcase their skills ahead of the AFLW Draft on Tuesday October 6.

SANFLW Leading Goal kicker Ashleigh Woodland, AFLW Academy member Zoe Prowse and West ball magnet Abbie Ballard headline those chosen for Team Hatchard.

Team Marinoff will have the experience of triple premiership defender Kristi Harvey together with the exciting youth of North premiership wing Katelyn Pope and South tall utility Gypsy Schirmer.

SA’s NAB AFLW All-Stars match will be streamed live on the SANFL website.

It will be the second game played on Friday September 11 at the former home of West Torrens, with an Under 16 Female Next Generation Academies match between the Crows and Power taking place at 5pm.

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.