Media Release

Hatchard and Martin named 2020 SANFLW Best and Fairest Award winners

Friday August 28, 2020

SANFL has declared North Adelaide player Anne Hatchard as the joint 2020 Statewide Super Women’s League Best and Fairest Award winner with West Adelaide’s Rachelle Martin.

The decision by the South Australian Football Commission followed an investigation by SANFL into voting from the Round 5 match between North Adelaide and Sturt in which Hatchard set a new high for most disposals in a SANFLW match with 42 possessions.

During last Friday night’s Best and Fairest medal count Hatchard did not poll any votes for her performance in that match.

SANFL General Manager Football Matt Duldig said that it was subsequently confirmed that another North Adelaide player had incorrectly been awarded three votes due to an administrative error by the officiating umpires.

“The clear intent from the umpires on the day was to award three votes to Anne and, on that basis, it was only fair that a genuine error which was made aware to us be corrected and that Anne be rightfully honoured for her tremendous season in the SANFL Statewide Super Women’s League,” Mr Duldig said.

He said that with Hatchard now officially awarded the three votes from Round 5, the Best and Fairest Award was a tie, with Martin and Hatchard polling 15 votes each.

Hatchard, also the 2020 Crows AFLW Club Champion, polled three votes from each of her remaining four minor round appearances in SANFLW.

Mr Duldig said Hatchard was a worthy winner of the Statewide Super Women’s League Best and Fairest Award, alongside Rachelle Martin.

“Anne shone in every game in the competition this season and, together with Rachelle Martin, is a very deserving winner of the League’s highest honour,” he said.

Hatchard also shared the KIA Coaches’ Award with Martin, polling 48 votes each.

Mr Duldig confirmed Hatchard would be presented with a Best and Fairest medal and that both winners would receive the $1000 cash prize and a financial planning session, thanks to Statewide Super.

2020 Statewide Super Women’s League Best & Fairest Leaderboard

15 – Rachelle Martin (West)
15 – Anne Hatchard (North)
10 – Matilda Zander (Norwood), Katelyn Pope (North)
9 – Abbie Ballard (West), Georgia Bevan (Sturt)
8 – Teah Charlton (South), Zoe Prowse (Sturt), Hannah Munyard (South)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.