Women's Footy

Ewings wins SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player Award

Sponsored by Powerade


Exciting North Adelaide forward Hannah Ewings has won the 2020 Powerade Breakthrough Player Award for the SANFL Statewide Super Women’s League after an impressive debut season.

Aged just 16, Ewings has played every game this season, featuring in the Roosters’ best players in seven of her 11 appearances while helping her side book a berth in the Grand Final on the back of an undefeated campaign.

Named on a half-forward flank in the 2020 The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year, the Whyalla teenager received her nomination for a stunning performance in Round 1.

Ewings was instrumental in the Roosters’ victory against the Tigers, kicking 1.2 to go with her 12 disposals, four marks and two inside 50s.

Her influence on the outcome of the match was also illustrated by her registering a game-high six score involvements.

Originally from the Roopena Football Club in the Whyalla Football League, Ewings is currently a member of the Statewide Super SA U18 Academy under the guidance of coach Tim Weatherald.

Ewings, Norwood’s Mattea Breed and West’s Keeley Kustermann were the three Powerade Breakthrough Player nominees to be selected in The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year while Sturt was the club with the most nominees, with Izzy Kuiper, Tiah Hough and Kiera Mueller.

To be eligible for the SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player Award, players must be aged 21 and under at the start of the year and have played six games or less at the start of the season.

Ewings was selected by a panel of judges which included SANFL General Manager of Football Matt Duldig, SANFL Female Talent Manager Robbie Neill, The Advertiser SANFLW Writer Dani Abbraciavento and SANFL Media Producer Zac Milbank.

2020 SANFLW Powerade Breakthrough Player Nominees

Round 1 – Hannah Ewings (North)
Round 2 – Mattea Breed (Norwood)
Round 3 – Izzy Kuiper (Sturt)
Round 4 – Tessa Kohn (Glenelg)
Round 5 – Keeley Kustermann (West)
Round 6 – Madison Lane (Central)
Round 7 – Kate Case (North)
Round 8 – Tiah Hough (Sturt)
Round 9 – Lauren Breguet (Central)
Round 10 – Kiera Mueller (Sturt)

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.