League Archive

Campbell Combe wins 2021 R. O Shearman Medal


North Adelaide midfielder Campbell Combe has edged out Glenelg’s Luke Partington to win his first R. O Shearman Medal.

The 2020 Magarey Medallist polled 77 votes, two ahead of Partington, who missed the final two rounds with a hamstring strain.

Averaging 26 disposals, six clearances and 10 tackles, the 26-year-old backed up his stunning campaign last year by continuing to earn the respect of SANFL’s coaches in 2021.

Woodville-West Torrens ball magnet James Tsitas (72) and South Adelaide clearance-winner Bryce Gibbs (71) were the other players to surpass 70 votes.

Eagles star Jack Hayes rounded out the top five with 64 votes.

Combe is just the second Rooster to win the R. O Shearman Medal, joining triple Magarey Medallist James Allan.

Allan has dominated the award, claiming a record six R. O Shearman Medals, including one with Sturt’s Jade Sheedy in 2008.

Voted on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis by the SANFL coaches during the minor round, the R. O Shearman Medal voting, including leaderboard, appears weekly on the SANFL website.

The medal is named after five-time Sturt premiership player and SA Football Hall of Fame member Bob Shearman.

2021 R. O Shearman Leaderboard

Player Club Votes
Campbell Combe North 77
Luke Partington Glenelg 75
James Tsitas Eagles 72
Bryce Gibbs South 71
Jack Hayes Eagles 64
Matthew Snook Glenelg 55
Kyle Presbury Central 54
Abe Davis Sturt 54
Richard Douglas Norwood 52
James Battersby Sturt 49

R. O Shearman Honour Roll

Year Player Club
2000 Gavin Colville Eagles
2001 Ryan O'Connor Port
2002 Jade Sheedy Sturt
2003 Brett Backwell/Marco Bello Glenelg/Central
2004 Salim Hassan West
2005 Jeremy Clayton Port
2006 Justin Cicolella Eagles
2007 James Allan North
2008 James Allan/Jade Sheedy North/Sturt
2009 James Allan North
2010 James Allan North
2011 James Allan North
2012 James Allan North
2013 Matthew Thomas Norwood
2014 Steven Summerton Port
2015 Joel Cross South
2016 Jared Petrenko Eagles
2017 Joel Cross South
2018 Nick Liddle South
2019 Luke Partington Glenelg
2020 Matthew Snook Glenelg
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.