League Archive

AAMI Rookies make their mark

South Adelaide's Matthew Roberts, who made his debut in Round 6, celebrates a goal in the 2021 Preliminary Final.


Potential AFL draftees, mature-age debutants and SANFL League premiership players – there was certainly a mixed bag among the 52 AAMI Rookies to play in the Statewide Super League in 2021.

As many as 16 players made their debut in Round 1, including returning AFL-listed trio Jacob Kennerley (Norwood), Jake Tarca (South) and Toby Pink (Glenelg).

Strongly-built South Adelaide key forward Daniel Nobes, 27, also made his long-awaited League debut after making a name for himself as one of the best goal kickers in country South Australia.

Sturt’s Charlie Parker, 23, showed plenty of promise on the wing after being selected for his first game in Round 5 while in the next round, the career of an Eagles defender was set to take off.

Dashing 20-year-old defender Luke Beecken swept all before him after making his debut in Round 6, playing every game for the rest of the season – including Woodville-West Torrens’ 2021 Grand Final victory.

At the other end of the age spectrum, 17-year-old West Adelaide forward Harry Lemmey received a call-up in Round 15 from coach Brad Gotch.

And the athletic tall forward certainly didn’t look out of place as he caught the eye of AFL recruiters already planning for the 2022 National Draft.

Those available in this year’s AFL Draft class – South’s Matthew Roberts, Glenelg’s Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera and Central’s Shay Linke – were also quick to impress, with Roberts playing a key role in the Panthers’ run to the Preliminary Final.

All players to make their League debut this year earned $500 for their original Community Football Club as well as a framed picture of them to hang in the clubrooms.

2021 AAMI Rookies

Round 1
Jacob Kennerley (Norwood) – Cummins Ramblers FC
Tom Wagner (Norwood) – Payneham Norwood Union FC
Ethan Moore (Port) – Mitcham FC
Damon Freitag (South) – Wisanger FC
Jake Tarca (South) – Encounter Bay FC
Daniel Nobes (South) – Christies Beach FC
Riley Clamp (Adelaide) – Strathalbyn FC
Bailey Marshman (Adelaide) – Reynella FC
Lachlan Mathews (Adelaide) – McLaren FC
Oliver Clarke (Adelaide) – Prince Alfred OC FC
Lachie Wilsdon (North) – Brinkworth Spalding Redhill FC
Sam Davis (North) – Plympton FC
Liam Wisdom (Glenelg) – Plympton FC
Toby Pink (Glenelg) – Tantanoola FC
Josh Shute (Sturt) – Walkerville FC
Angus Rana (West) – Goodwood Saints FC

Round 2
Cooper Horsnell (Glenelg) Henley FC
Jake Cook (Adelaide) CMS Crows FC

Round 3
Rhys Cannizzaro (Central) – Nuriootpa FC

Round 4
Ben Salt (Adelaide) – Hahndorf FC

Round 5
Xavier Tranfa (Norwood) – Payneham Norwood Union FC
Charlie Parker (Sturt) – Adelaide University FC

Round 6
Luke Beecken (Eagles) – SMOSH West Lakes FC
Matt Roberts (South) – Langhorne Creek FC
Nick Steele (West) – Port Noarlunga FC
Jase Burgoyne (Port) – Port District FC

Round 7
Mani Liddy (Sturt) – Kersbrook FC
Leek Alleer (Central) – Angle Vale FC
Nick Hooker (Port) – Gawler Central FC
Miller Carter (Port) – Port District FC
Brady Searle (Glenelg) – Plympton FC

Round 9
Tristan Binder (Norwood) – Boston FC

Round 11
Shay Linke (Central) – Tanunda FC

Round 12
Declan Fahey (North) – Payneham Norwood Union FC
Jake McCreery (South) – Cove FC
Bailey Nicholas (Port) – Cove FC

Round 13
Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera (Glenelg) – Marion FC
Nic Kraemer (South Adelaide) – Reynella FC

Round 14
Hamish Gordon (West Adelaide) – Millicent FC
Corey Di Stefano (Central District) – Golden Grove FC
Sam Kennedy (Adelaide) – Brighton FC

Round 15
Harry Lemmey (West Adelaide) – Blackwood FC
Anzac Lochowiak (Sturt) – Payneham Norwood Union FC
Sam Morris (Norwood) – Payneham Norwood Union FC
Oliver Cheesman (Port) – Unley Mercedes Jets FC

Round 16
Cameron Hutchens (Adelaide) – Willunga FC
Hayden Kernahan (Adelaide) – Cove FC

Round 17
Arlo Draper (South) – Willunga FC
Jack Lewis (Adelaide) – Unley Mercedes FC
Max Hodges (Adelaide) – Payneham FC

Round 19
Max Litster (Eagles) – CMS Crows FC
James Richards (Sturt) – Uraidla FC

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.