2023 SA U20 squad released

Glenelg's Archie Lovelock has impressed in his opening three Hostplus SANFL League games this season. Picture - Cory Sutton


A 33-player South Australian U20 squad has been released, topped by several emerging Hostplus SANFL League players.

To be coached by Sturt Reserves premiership mentor Chris Trapp, the Croweaters will tackle the Torrens University SA U18 team in a one-off match at Thebarton Oval on Friday May 19.

Glenelg forward Archie Lovelock, West Adelaide midfielders Kobe Ryan and Cade Kennedy, South Adelaide wingman Isaac Birt and Eagles ball-winner Adam D’Aloia are among those selected to have tasted League footy this season.

Adelaide and Port Adelaide are also represented in the squad, with half-back Blayne O’Loughlin (Crows) and Magpie father-sons Will Francou and Harper Montgomery also a chance to make the final 23-man line-up.

Overseen by SANFL Head of Talent Brenton Phillips, the SA U20 program is designed to provide players with an opportunity to perform at an elite level in front of AFL recruiting scouts.

MVP medals will be presented to the best players for both the SA U20 and SA U18 teams on the night.

The SA U20 program will commence on Sunday May 7, with Trapp to be supported by assistants Jeff Brown (Central), John Corbett (Sturt), Russell Godson (West) and Michael Knoll (Norwood).

West Adelaide midfielder Cade Kennedy has been named in the 2023 SA U20 squad. Picture – David Mariuz

2023 SA U20 Squad

Player SANFL Club
Blayne O'Loughlin Adelaide
Adam Deakin Central
Shay Linke Central
Jacob Lochowiak Central
Archie Lovelock Glenelg
Lewis Rayson Glenelg
Hugh Stagg Glenelg
Jake Walker Glenelg
Shaun Bennier North
Max Blacker North
Josh Bradford Norwood
Harvey Pedler Norwood
Tyson Walls Norwood
Will Francou Port
Harper Montgomery Port
Isaac Birt South
Kobe Cockshell South
Dylan Brown South
Cooper Rogers South
Zac Becker Sturt
Charlie Fryer Sturt
Hugo Kittel Sturt
Nick Sadler Sturt
Will Spain Sturt
Cade Kennedy West
Owen Mulady West
Kobe Ryan West
Jesse Thackeray West
Lukas Cooke Woodville-West Torrens
Adam D'Aloia Woodville-West Torrens
Will Neumann Woodville-West Torrens
Sam Nicholls Woodville-West Torrens
Will Pearce Woodville-West Torrens
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.