Hostplus League

2022 West End State Squad Released

Glenelg captain Max Proud in action for the West End State team against the WAFL at Optus Oval in 2019.


SANFL selectors have released a new-look, 38-player West End State Squad to confront the WAFL in Perth on Sunday May 15. 

With the Croweaters’ first training session under coach Jade Sheedy set to kick off at Thebarton Oval on Tuesday night, the initial list of those poised to tackle the Sandgropers at Optus Stadium has been finalised.

2021 Grand Finalist Glenelg has seven players named but the surprise packet is Norwood, with last year’s qualifying finalist also having seven selected, including six potential debutants such as ruckman Harry Boyd, forward Ben Jarvis and midfielders Jacob Kennerly and Nik Rokahr.

Sheedy’s reigning Eagles premiership squad will supply six players, including star midfielders Riley Knight and Joseph Sinor, livewire forward Daniel Menzel and former Brisbane Lions giant Connor Ballenden.

North Adelaide has five players chosen, Sturt and South Adelaide four each and Central District three while AFL-experienced key position pair Tom Keough and Kaiden Brand represent West Adelaide.

Speaking on SANFL Radio, Sheedy said selectors – headed by Chairman Stephen Rowe – had opted for a larger squad this year due to so many players being in strong form.

North Adelaide coach Jacob Surjan will continue as one of Sheedy’s assistants while Norwood mentor Jade Rawlings and Bloods senior assistant Adam Hartlett have joined this year’s West End State coaching panel as it seeks to retain the Haydn Bunton Junior Cup.

The initial West End State squad will be trimmed to 23 players after Round 6 of the Hostplus SANFL League, ahead of the final two training sessions in the week leading up to the clash.

If form warrants, players can also still be added to the squad within the next fortnight.

A new State captain will be named in the final week, with last year’s skipper Jack Hayes now on St Kilda’s list.

2022 West End State Squad

Player SANFL Club
Billy McCormack Central
Kyle Presbury Central
Travis Schiller Central
Matt Allen Glenelg
Luke Partington Glenelg
Lachlan Hosie Glenelg
Max Proud Glenelg
Sam Durdin Glenelg
Liam McBean Glenelg
Brett Turner Glenelg
Campbell Combe North
Keenan Ramsey North
Alex Spina North
Mitch Harvey North
Harrison Wigg North
Harry Boyd Norwood
Declan Hamilton Norwood
Jack Heard Norwood
Ben Jarvis Norwood
Jacob Kennerly Norwood
Nik Rokahr Norwood
Matthew Nunn Norwood
Jye Menzie South
Mitch O'Neill South
Hayden Sampson South
Eamon Wilkinson South
Will Coomblas Sturt
Casey Voss Sturt
Tom Lewis Sturt
Patrick Wilson Sturt
Kaiden Brand West
Tom Keough West
Connor Ballenden Woodville-West Torrens
Riley Knight Woodville-West Torrens
Rory Lehmann Woodville-West Torrens
Daniel Menzel Woodville-West Torrens
Joseph Sinor Woodville-West Torrens
Zane Williams Woodville-West Torrens
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.