Women's Footy

2020 The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year


North Adelaide’s dominant season has been reflected in having seven players selected in the 2020 The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year, together with Krissie Steen as coach.

Heading into Sunday’s Statewide Super Women’s League Grand Final with a flawless 11-0 win-loss record, the Roosters have a player listed on each line of the talented team picked on performances in the minor round.

Runner-up in the SANFLW Best and Fairest, Anne Hatchard is named to start in the pivot while fellow Rooster Ashleigh Woodland, the team’s vice-captain, is also in the centre square.

Cristie Castle and Powerade Breakthrough Player Hannah Ewings will use their goalsense in attack while key backs Amber Ward and Kristi Harvey have been assigned the task of holding down the defensive posts.

Impressive first-year midfielder Katelyn Pope, who finished equal third in the SANFLW Best and Fairest count, rounds out the red-and-white contingent after being selected on a wing.

Captain of the 2020 The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year – Rachelle Martin.

Grand Finalist South Adelaide had the second most players chosen with four, led by star goalsneaks Teah Charlton and Jess Kirk, who were named across the half-forward line.

Former Redleg Tahlia Meyer found her spot on the wing after an exceptional first season with the Panthers while the versatile Indy Tahau can play multiple roles from the interchange bench.

SANFLW Best and Fairest Rachelle Martin will captain the team after her outstanding campaign, while fellow Bloods Keeley Kustermann and Madison Newman will provide plenty of drive off the half-back flanks.

Classy Norwood forward Matilda Zander, featured in the Tweet below, found her spot in the forward pocket. She is one of three Redlegs chosen along with Rhiannon Busch (back pocket) and NT recruit Mattea Breed (interchange).

Central District had two players make the cut, with Katelyn Rosenzweig lining up at full forward after booting half of her team’s goals this year (14). First-year midfielder Shelby Smith, the daughter of former Bulldogs captain Greg Smith, had her campaign rewarded with selection on the interchange bench.

Sturt’s Zoe Prowse took the mantle of the best SANFLW ruck in 2020 after finishing runner-up in the Coaches Award while Crows-listed pair Cailtin Gould (Glenelg – interchange) and Renee Forth (Eagles – back pocket) ensured their SANFL clubs were also represented.

The 2020 The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year was selected by SANFL General Manager of Football Matt Duldig, SANFL Female Talent Manager Robbie Neill, The Advertiser SANFLW Writer Dani Abbraciavento and SANFL Media Producer Zac Milbank.

Central’s Katelyn Rosenzweig was selected at full forward in the 2020 The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year.

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.