Media Release

2020 SANFL Statewide Super League season update

SANFL can confirm that the Port Adelaide and Adelaide Football Clubs will not field teams in the SANFL Statewide Super League competition in 2020.

This follows the AFL’s decision not to allow AFL-listed players to play in state leagues for the remainder of the 2020 AFL season.

SANFL Chief Executive Officer Jake Parkinson said while it was a disappointing outcome for the two AFL Clubs and their supporters, SANFL now had further clarity on its 2020 season.

“We now know it will be an eight-team SANFL competition in 2020 and we can move forward with our planning for a 14-minor round fixture to commence as soon as restrictions enable us to,” Mr Parkinson said.

“Training starts from next Monday for the eight SANFL Clubs and we are all looking forward to getting players back on the field for 2020 SANFL competitions.”

Mr Parkinson said consideration would need to be given to the two clubs’ non-AFL listed players and what options might be available for those players in season 2020.

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.