League Archive

2019 The Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year


Glenelg has dominated selection in the 2019 The Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year, with the Tigers having five players chosen, together with coach Mark Stone. 

The minor premier’s skipper Chris Curran was named as captain of SANFL’s best 21 for the season, lining up at centre half-back in front of his West End State team-mate Max Proud at full back.

Ken Farmer Medallist Liam McBean was the automatic selection at full forward with his sharp-shooting comrade Luke Reynolds, who booted just one goal less than McBean’s 46-goal tally, listed at centre-half forward.

Magarey Medallist Luke Partington rounds out the Glenelg contingent, starting in the centre square alongside Magarey runner-up Patrick Wilson, Magpies star Jack Trengove and Norwood premiership ruckman Sam Baulderstone.

Long-kicking Redleg Lewis Johnston takes up his position on one wing while fellow ball magnet Sam Colquhoun, who racked up the most disposals for the season with 523, lines up on the other side of the centre square.

South co-captain Joel Cross acts as Curran’s deputy across half-forward while fellow Panther Abe Davis and Team of the Year debutants James Rowe and Troy Menzel fill the other positions inside attacking 50m.

Davis can also be injected into the midfield while Rowe and Menzel, who kicked 35 and 33 goals respectively, act as ideal foils for McBean and Reynolds.

Resolute South backman Joe Haines, who made his debut for the West End State team this year, is on one half-back flank while left-footer Jarred Allmond is on the other after providing plenty of his customary rebound for the Roosters this year.

Norwood’s Brad McKenzie joins Allmond as the ideal pin-point passers for the kick-ins while retiring Sturt great Jack Stephens wins the post as the third tall defender after regularly putting his body on the line in 2019.

Plenty of midfield power rests on the interchange bench, with Central’s Jarrod Schiller, Sandover Medallist Aidan Tropiano and Eagles debutant Jordan Foote all ready to make an impact as McBean relieves Baulderstone in the ruck.

Tigers coach Stone gets the nod as the Coach of the Year, steering the Bays to their first minor premiership since 2009 and first Grand Final since 2008 after Glenelg was placed sixth last year in his first year at the helm.

The Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year is selected by SANFL’s Adam Kelly, Tom Hurley and Zac Milbank together with The Advertiser’s Warren Partland, Channel 7’s Mark Soderstrom and SANFL Budget Editor Peter Cornwall.

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.