Riverland, Murray & Mallee Regional Council Nominations

SANFL is seeking nominations for the establishment of the inaugural Riverland, Murray and Mallee Regional Council.

Designed to act in an advisory capacity for SANFL’s Community Football Committee, the Council will be based on a successful model already introduced in several other regions, including the South-East.

Strategically, the Council’s charter will be to ensure the ongoing sustainability of football in these regions while also enhancing competition structures to support local competition equalisation and talent pathways for junior development.

The Council will also provide vital support for local Leagues and Clubs, particularly in the area of facility development and infrastructure planning with local governments.

Nominations are called for up to nine community representatives, who will be appointed by SANFL’s Community Football Committee.

They will consist of a Chairperson, Eastern Zone Regional Football Advisory Council Member, seven community members and ex officio members (no voting rights).

Once nominations are received by COB Monday November 1, the process to appoint the Council will be as follows:

  1. SANFL calls for Nominations for the Council
  2. Community Football Committee appoints the Council (November 2021)
  3. Council members, League representatives and ex officio members meet and appoint a Chair
  4. Council meets in full to commence process for competition review as per powers outlined under the Charter


Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.