Country Footy Wrap

By Peter Argent | May 6

Port Lincoln Football League


At the famous Centenary Park in the heart of Port Lincoln, Wayback FC was highly inaccurate early in the game against Boston Tigers, but eventually went on to a 77-point victory.

The ‘Waybackers’ kicked 2.10 to 2.1 in the opening quarter and should have led by much more than their nine-point margin.

This match was still up for grabs at half-time despite Waybacks having 19 scoring shots to eight.  They had 27 more scoring shots and won the game 18.21 (129) to 8.4 (52).

Josh Scharenberg was best on ground for Wayback and also kicked three goals.

Greg Maxfield and James Blewit had a telling impact, while Thomas Easson, Riley Hatcher and Jack Hegarty all had their moments.

Better players for Boston included Aaron Dunn, Jack Jacobs and Jake Nicholls who kicked couple of goals while Riley King kicked three goals for the tigers.

At Poole Oval, with a 23-point lead at half time, Mallee Park got up by 16 points over Lincoln South, both teams with ten goals a piece. The final score was 10.23 (83) to 10.7 (67).

Ron Carbine was best on ground for the Mighty Peckers followed by Raheem Betts, with three goals, Kingsley Ware and the silky smooth Derick Wanganeen were amongst the best.

Vying for best on ground in the losing side was Brodie Drewitt who bagged seven goals, while Levi McDonald and Paul White also had an impact.

Tasman played Marble Range in an evening game at Ravensdale Oval and held a significant 37-point lead at three quarter time in a low scoring game. Marble Range stormed home kicking 6 goals in the last quarter, but would fall just short with Tasman holding on to win by just eight points – 9.7 (61) to 8.5 (53). Rhys Kelsh was Tasman’s best, followed by former Central District player and Power rookie  Johann Wagner, who kicked four goals up forward. Cody Mason and Jace Rodda had their moments as well for the victors.

Kowree Naracoorte Tatiara Football League

In round four of the KNT competition, Mundulla continued its undefeated start to the season with a comfortable 49-point away win over the Kingston Saints.

The Tigers had a convincing 49 point lead at half-time and, after a more even second half, won the game 17.15 (117) to 10.8 (68).

Jake McGrice was the Tigers’ best, followed by Nicholas Gregurke and Thomas Perry while James Hinge kicked six goals and Nick Mosey finished with four.

Tyler Baker was Kingston’s best, followed by former Southern Flinders footballer Scott Mazzone, Brett Simpson and former Norwood Redlegs talent James Siviour.
Bordertown broke away from close geographical Rivals Kybybolite after quarter time, eventually winning the contest by 29 points.

Brad Peach led the way for the Bordertown Roosters, followed by Regan and Rory Tink, while Brent Shuttlesworth also had a significant impact on the match.

Jack Mckay was the top performer for the Kyby Tigers, followed by Tommy Woodard and Jamie Bittner.
At Keith Oval, the Crows were beaten by the Kaniva Leeor United Cougars by two goals in a game where only a point separated the opponents at the three-quarter time break.
Local Cougars product Alex Brown produced a best on ground performance along with two goals, while gregarious character and key forward Michael Wundke finished with a haul of four goals.

Others to take the eye included Josh Jared and Blake Dodson.

For the Crows, Ben Woodall was best followed by former Eudunda boy Albert Dunstan and Seb Schreiber.
The closest match of the round was between Lucindale and Border Districts with the hosts Lucindale getting up by just five points, 16.13 (109) to 15.14 (104).
Lockie Jones was best for the Roos followed by Luke Kelsh and Angus Eckermann. The diminutive Sam Mardling and Sam Graetz each kicked three goals.

Zak Edwards was Border Districts best followed by Mark Quinn and Daniel Skinner. Shawn Mansell and Harrison Pretlove both kicked three goals for the vanquished.
The Padthaway Lions – on the back of five goals from Luke Harder and a best on ground performance from Daniel Obst – defeated Naracoorte by 29 points.
Matthew Raitt (three goals) and Archie Longbottom also played important roles.

Andrew Cheer was the Demons’ leading performer.

Mid South East Football League

Mount Burr defeated Port McDonald at home by a comfortable six goals in what turned out to be the closest margin in round four of the MSE competition.

The Mozzies were in front by two goals at half-time before kicking seven goals to three in the second half to ensure a solid victory.

Josh Fiebig was best on ground followed by Tommy Fennell, while goal kicking ace Jack Gregory finished with a bag of seven.

Ned Wilke was the Demons best along with Ben McGregor and Mark Smith.

In the battle of the MSE birds, the Kalangadoo Magpies had a comfortable 59-point win over the Kongorong Hawks.

The Magpies took control in the second quarter with five goals to one, and while the Hawks charged back in the third quarter, a powerful nine-goal last quarter ensured the Magpies enjoyed a big win.

Former Glenelg captain, Ben Mules, back at his foundation club, was best on ground with a six-goal haul. Fellow Magpies Liam Hay and Bradley Auld were prominent, while Dallas Jeffree helped himself to five goals as well.

For the Hawks, Marty Von Stanke was their best, while John Simpkin kicked six goals.

The other two games were one-sided affairs. The Hatherleigh Eagles travelled to Nangwarry and won by a massive 166-point margin.

Sam Telfer kicked eight goals and Brad Wight slotted through six, with Matthew Fabris being the Eagles best.

Ricky Lindner and George McWaters battled manfully for the undermanned Nangwarry side.
Glencoe travelled to Tantanoola and had a big win over the Tigers by 163 points, with Brodie Foster booting nine goals.  Also playing their part in the victory was Glencoe’s Alex Gregory with six goals and big bustling state country quick bowler Alex Hentschke with four.

Long-time representative big man and former Medalist Zacc Cocks also had a big impact for the Tigers.

Zac Walker was the Tigers’ best performer, followed by Braydn Reilly and Hayden Brown.

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.