Women's Footy

Statewide Super SA U19 Girls Squad Release

West Adelaide's Lauren Young has been selected in the Statewide Super U19 Girls Squad despite being aged just 15.


SANFL has released the 2021 Statewide Super SA U19 Girls Squad, with 30 of the state’s brightest young female players named to play in the NAB AFLW U19 National Championships next month.

In an historic first, SA’s girls will don the treasured red guernsey at the NAB AFLW U19 National Championships to be held on the Gold Coast from April 11 to 15.

Previously, SA has joined forces with the Northern Territory but now coach Tim Weatherald will guide his charges as a standalone outfit against Queensland (April 12) and the Allies (April 15) at Metricon Stadium.

But first, the Croweaters will tackle Western Australia on Sunday March 28 at Flinders University Stadium, the first of three contests this season.

Speaking on SANFL Radio, State Female Talent Manager Robbie Neill said two players – Eagle Brooklyn Kraft (knee) and North’s Hannah Ewings (ankle) – were awaiting the results of scans after injuries in Round 3 of the Statewide Super Women’s League.

The squad includes AFLW Academy pair Zoe Prowse (Sturt) and Gypsy Schirmer (South) together with exciting 15-year-old Lauren Young, who earned the Round 1 Powerade Breakthrough Player nomination for the Bloods.

Captains will be revealed closer to the match against the Sandgropers, once a player vote has been undertaken while training continues at Thebarton Oval.

Sturt’s Georgia Swan is one of the 30 players selected in the Statewide Super SA U19 Girls Squad.

2021 Statewide Super U19 Girls Squad

Number Player SANFL Club
1 Laitiah Huynh Central
2 Sarah Branford Norwood
3 Kate Case North
4 Madison Lane Central
5 Lauren Breguet Central
6 Gypsy Schirmer South
7 Brooke Tonon Glenelg
8 Charlotte Dolan Eagles
9 Tahlita Buethke South
10 Zoe Prowse Sturt
11 Zoe Venning West
12 Tamsyn Morriss Glenelg
13 Hannah Ewings North
14 Amelie Borg North
15 Alana Lishmund Norwood
16 Georgia Swan Sturt
17 Scarlett Griffiths West
18 Jess Williams Norwood
19 Alex Ballard Sturt
20 Hannah Prenzler Sturt
21 Lauren Clifton South
22 Tamika May West
23 Julia Clark North
24 Keeley Kustermann West
25 Jamie Parish Eagles
26 Sarah Wright South
27 Jorja Eldridge North
28 Jade Halfpenny Norwood
29 Brooklyn Kraft Eagles
30 Lauren Young West
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.