Six South Aussies in 2021 NAB AFL Academy

South Adelaide sensation Jason Horne is one of six South Australians selected in the 2021 AFL Academy


South Adelaide young gun Jason Horne and Woodville-West Torrens father-son prospect Jase Burgoyne headline a group of six South Australian teenagers selected in the 2021 NAB AFL Academy.

Horne, who underlined his extreme talent playing in nine SANFL League games last year, and Burgoyne – the son of Port Adelaide premiership star Peter Burgoyne – will be joined by strongly-built Panthers utility Matthew Roberts and silky Norwood midfielder Cooper Murley in the 21-player squad.

Athletic Sturt ruck Zoe Prowse, selected in the SANFLW Team of the Year, and versatile South tall Gypsy Schirmer are the Croweaters among the 20 chosen in the 2021 NAB AFLW Academy.

Those selected will be guided by National AFL Academy Manager and coach Tarkyn Lockyer, with a high-performance camp planned for the boys in April and in July for the girls.

As in previous seasons, players will have the opportunity to train for a week at local AFL and AFLW clubs to give them an insight into the commitment required at elite level.

”We’ve selected an exciting list of players to enter the NAB AFL Academy and we’re looking forward to seeing them grow as people and as footballers,” Lockyer said.

“This holistic academy program provides all players with a heavy focus on elite football development and is equally focused on improving high performance and mental well-being of all players to best assist them with their 2021 journey and best prepare them for the highest level.”

Horne, Burgoyne, Roberts and Murley are this week involved with SANFL’s State Talent Hub camp, which is being held at Thebarton Oval.

Conducted by SANFL Head of Talent Brenton Phillips and Torrens University SA U19 coach Tony Bamford, the four-day camp includes football training, strength and conditioning, together with education on nutrition.

Players will also be handed public speaking challenges while also undergoing media training and team building activities.

2021 AFL Academy - SA Boys

Player SANFL club Local club
Jason Horne South Adelaide Christies Beach
Matthew Roberts South Adelaide Langhorne Creek
Jase Burgoyne Woodville-West Torrens Port District
Cooper Murley Norwood Tea Tree Gully

Eagles’ midfielder Jase Burgoyne

2021 AFLW Academy - SA Girls

Player SANFL club Local club
Zoe Prowse Sturt Mount Lofty
Gypsy Schirmer South Adelaide Christies Beach

Sturt’s Zoe Prowse was named ruck in the 2020 SANFLW Team of the Year

Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.