Team Selections

SANFL Selectors finalise West End State Team

West End State defender Max Proud gets a clearing kick away against the WAFL in 2019. Picture - Gary Day


West End State Coach Jade Sheedy has hailed the hunger and desire of SANFL’s superstars to ensure the Haydn Bunton Junior Cup is retained at the Adelaide Oval on Saturday.

The final team of 23 players – littered with premiership stars, Magarey Medallists and best-and-fairest winners – illustrates the Croweaters’ commitment to the cause against the WAFL.

Speaking on SANFL Radio, Sheedy is delighted with his blend of youth and experience, together with outside pace and inside ball-winning ability through the midfield.

With 2019 Fos Williams Medallist Michael Knoll set to lead the ruck, the midfield group will feature the past two Magarey Medallists in Luke Partington and Campbell Combe together with Norwood skipper Matthew Nunn and former Crow Riley Knight.

AFL experienced pair Bryce Gibbs and Cam Sutcliffe could also roll through the centre square while also offering coach Sheedy plenty of versatility, a feature of arguably the competition’s most flexible player – Eagle Jack Hayes.

Glenelg trio Liam McBean, Lachie Hoise and Luke Reynolds will form a formidable structure in attack with pacy pair Tyson Stengle and Eamon Wilkinson ready to pounce around the goals while applying defensive pressure.

In defence, Eagles captain Luke Thompson will link up with Glenelg co-skippers Max Proud and Chris Curran while South’s Joe Haines and Bob Quinn Medallist Sam Rowland are set to play specific roles in the back half.

The leadership group for the West End State Team will be announced in the next 24 hours while the squad will train at Thebarton Oval on Tuesday night before having a run at Adelaide Oval before a team dinner on Thursday night.

Starting at 3.35pm, the match will be the curtain-raiser to the Port Adelaide v Western Bulldogs AFL clash and will be live-streamed at and broadcast on SEN SA and WA.

2021 West End State Team

Number Player SANFL Club
2 Hayden Sampson South
3 Campbell Combe North
4 Matthew Goldsworthy Eagles
5 Sam Rowland Eagles
6 Alex Spina North
7 Riley Knight Eagles
8 Tyson Stengle Eagles
9 Eamon Wilkinson South
10 Luke Partington Glenelg
11 Jarred Allmond North
14 Matthew Nunn Norwood
15 Chris Curran Glenelg
16 Bryce Gibbs South
17 Joe Haines South
18 Jack Hayes Eagles
19 Max Proud Glenelg
20 Lachie Hosie Glenelg
21 Luke Reynolds Glenelg
22 Cam Sutcliffe Port
23 Luke Thompson Eagles
27 Matthew Broadbent South
28 Liam McBean Glenelg
30 Michael Knoll Norwood
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.