Community Footy

SANFL Congratulates David Shipway AM


SANFL is hailing David Shipway’s outstanding contribution to Australian Football which has been recognised by him earning the AFL’s Jack Titus Service Award.

Serving with distinction on the South Australian Football Commission for 21 years, David also held the position of Deputy Chairman from 2012 to 2016.

But it was his unbridled passion for Community Football, particularly at grassroots level, which shone through to earn him an Order of Australia Medal for services to Australian Football in 2017.

”David’s tremendous passion for country football and ensuring its future sustainability is unsurpassed,” SANFL Chief Executive Jake Parkinson said.

”SANFL congratulates David on receiving the Jack Titus Service Award, a fitting tribute to his everlasting legacy in Community Football across South Australia.”

The man affectionately known as ” Shippy” developed a statewide reputation in rolling up his sleeves for an important causes, playing leading roles in raising significant amounts of money for players and clubs in need of assistance.

This included the provision of rainwater storage tanks to drought-affected clubs, the donation of grain field bins and provision of rainwater tanks to communities affected by the 2015 Pinery bushfires.

As a result, there was no hesitation in naming the SA Volunteer of the Year Award in David’s honour, as an important reminder of his generous contribution to Australian Football in South Australia.


Chairman, South Australian Community Football League (2009 – 2017) ;
Deputy Chairman, South Australian Football Commission (2012 – 2016) ;
Member of South Australian Football Commission (1997 – 2017) ;
Chairman, SANFL Life Members Committee (2001 – present) ;
Chairman, West Adelaide Football Club (1988 – 1989) ;
President, West Adelaide Football Club (1990 – 1994);
Management Committee Member, West Adelaide Football Club (1985 – 1994).



  • Order of the Member of Australia for Services to Football (2017) ;
  • Life Member of SANFL (2008) ;
  • Life Member of West Adelaide Football Club (2000) ;
  • Introduction of mandatory para & quad insurance cover under National Insurance Scheme ;
  • SA Volunteer of the Year Award named in David Shipway’s honour ;
  • Responsible for the SA Community Football League funding contributions to the value of $8 million to Community Football between 2009 and 2017;
  • At the forefront of many fundraising activities for families and communities struck by tragedy, including: Provision of 22,000L rainwater storage tanks to 60 drought-affected clubs between 2012-14;
  • Donation of grain field bins to 80 clubs across wheat belt areas as fund-raisers, resulting in 600k funds raised;
  • Provision of six 200,000L water tanks to communities affected by 2015 Pinery bushfires;
  • Establishment of the annual Miners Cup competition between Broken Hill / Roxby Downs leagues;
  • 60k fundraising in 2018  for teen Tai Martin-Page after suffering a spinal cord injury;
  • 100k fundraising in 2019 for former SANFL/AFL player Mark Mickan after Parkinson’s disease diagnosis.
Sign up to receive the latest SANFL news straight to your inbox.